Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
We have made this recipe several times now... my husband is the one who actually makes it! He loves how simple it is and he loves how it turns out! It even makes fantastic leftovers! Highly recommend this one! Simple, easy, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great recipe to start with. Made this for dinner w/friends who had never had corned beef before. I know a lot of the reviews say they put the meat on the bottom, but I didn't. I sprayed my crockpot (as always). Then I substituted small red potatoes cut in half or quarters on the bottom. Bag o' baby carrots worked perfect! I liked the vinegar/sugar combo. But way too much water! I'm making it again this weekend and taking out at least 1 cup, and maybe adding a dark beer (sounds good from the other reviews!) Total 2 cups liquid max. Everything was cooked perfectly and the flavor was terrific! I was a little worried about fitting everything...my cabbage didn't totally fit until some of the veggies cooked down, but it came out the way I like it. I also like the idea of adding garlic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wolfeboro, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
First corned beef and cabbage. Easy to make. Tastes great. Did not have enough room in my crock pot for a lot of cabbage. Followed the recipe. The only thing I did different was adding apple juice instead of water. I think it enhanced the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Didn't care for this AT ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Not enough room in a regular crock pot. I have a huge one...so it worked well. Instead of water, I use equal amounts of beer (better quality, better flavor) and vegetable broth. I leave out the vinegar and sugar. The vinegar will act as a tenderizer for this tough cut of meat if you choose to use it....especially if you use the less fattier Flat Cut. I find I do not need it when there is enough liquid to cover (add more as it cooks if needed) and a long enough slow cook time. I DO serve Malt Vinegar at the table...nothing like boiled/ cooked cabbage topped with butter, vinegar and juices from the pot :-) . My DH is Boston Irish...always have to have the beer and spices in the pot...no matter which method you choose to cook it. Don't forget to drink some of that beer as you put it in the pot...makes cooking it so much more FUN LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Ever since I came across this recipe 4 years ago, I've never looked for another! It's a family favorite that we use on St. Pat's and again mid-year... Terrific every single time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Perfection....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was by far the best corned beef I've ever had!! The entire family absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I'm as Irish as they make 'em--and this is DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I used this as a base for cooking my corned beef. I used the entire spice pkg instead of using the bay leaf/sugar/vinegar. Came out good. Cooked in slow-cooker for 6 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States