Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was Delicious, followed the recipe exactly as written, I didn't have baby carrots so I chopped four or five regular carrots into large pieces. Three cups of water was too much for the piece of CB that I had, I should have cut it back to atleast 2 cups. Also, I should have browned the meat first before putting it in the slow cooker, so after the CB was done, I put it in a dish and stuck it in the oven so it could brown. Will make this again, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was the absolute best corned beef I have ever made. Usually my corned beef is dry, chewy and tasteless. So I decided after reading all the reviews to try this recipe. I made a few changes as all cooks do, I used 2 cups of hot water and 2 teaspoons of Better than beef bouillon, for the 3rd cup of liquid I used a 7 oz bottle of Goya malt beverage. I mixed the onion, liquid garlic, sugar vinegar, pepper, a dash of gourmet salt and bay leaf and poured it in the crock pot, then I put my flat cut corned beef in and cooked it on low for 4 hours, I then added my carrots, potatoes and cabbage and cooked it an additional 7 hours on low. It came out perfect and I will be using this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was easy and tasty. Big hit with friends and family. Added extra water just to cover the brisket a little better. Tender with loads of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Use fewer carrots and potatoes than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wonderful...I didn't use any of the beef season mix. The only problem was the vegts were tender before the beef..so I removed them early. LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Love this recipe. I know some say you don't need the vinegar etc. but I like the added flavor it gives. I also sub 1C water with 8 oz beer. My daughter who is not a big fan of meat gobbles this up. Thanks you for showing an Italian how to make something Irish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
So good!!! I followed the recipe but added a bottle of beer, and added extra water, so liquid was covering meat and veggies. Made for a great St. Pats meal Thank you will use for years to come. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly except I made sure the meat was completely covered by water and I cooked it for 10 hours. The meat was very good and tender. However, I agree with another reviewer that I didn't care for the taste that the vinegar gave to the vegetables. Also after 10 hours of cooking, the vegetables (carrots and potatoes) were undercooked. If I make this again, I will do the vegetables separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe! I have NEVER liked corned beef much, but this was fabulous. I will never make it any other way from now on. The crockpot was a PERFECT way to cook this dinner. I used a 7 quart crockpot because I had 2 pieces of corned beef totaling 5.5 pounds. For the cooking liquid, I doubled all the ingredients EXCEPT the sugar. And like others said, I put the meat on the bottom and the vegetables on top to ensure that all the meat was immersed in the water. I didn't have room for the cabbage, so I cooked that separately. I loved the flavor of the potatoes and carrots...the extra kick that the vinegar/sugar gave to the brine was just delicious. Dinner was a huge hit today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States