Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I make this for my husband and he says it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This is the 1st time I've ever had corned beef and cabbage and this recipe was wonderful. I did make 1 slight change on the recommendation of a friend. I substituted the water vinegar mixture for chicken broth, and the bulb of garlic I had was small, so I used the whole thing. Will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was difficult. Some of it is my fault for not liking my corned beef and cabbage this way, but it is also just not good cooking. 1st: 8-9 hours is way too long to slow-cook the veggies in this dish--as I learned, too late. Everything was MUSH. The meat was like eating delicate rubber. No texture or firmness left to it at all. Forget using leftovers for sandwiches. I would recommend going with the top rated recipe on this site which recommends 50 min. per pound of meat. Also, don't add the cabbage until the last hour or it will be like slimy strings. Second, every picture I see of corned beef and cabbage on this site shows it being served on a plate with no cooking broth. Well, that's probably more traditional, but it's not how I grew up eating it. I loved the broth. And if you know anything about nutrition, you'll realize that it's where all the nutrients go that you are cooking out of your vegetables. If you are going to be wasteful and dump the broth, this method is fine. If you want to keep it as a healthy soup, it will turn out tasting like the brine the corned beef is packaged in. At the very least, it should be thoroughly rinsed or soaked in cold water before adding to the pot. At best, you could even pre-boil some of the brine off the meat, discard the water and then add the less nitrate-filled beef to your pot. This is what I learned from my mom, who I should have just called and asked in the first place. At least I know what NOT to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I am a volunteer at a bird banding station in N. IL. I took this meal to our Friday evening group for supper. I heard raves that this was the best many had ever had! I will use this recipe from now on when I make corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Never tried corned beef and cabbage before - tasted great. Read reviews and tried the apple juice instead of water and added the cabbage halfway thru. Thought I could SQUEEZE it all in the crockpot, but... when the wife got home from work it had started to overflow! Messy cleanup - next time saving 1/2 of potatoes and carrots to do on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Made this for St. Patrick's Day for the first time. I followed the recipe and it was a huge hit!! The only change I made was putting half the cabbage in at the start of cooking and the rest about an hour before done. Both were good! Will make again and absoluteley loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
WOWZA! First of all, I have never made corned beef and cabbage or used a slow cooker for more than a few hours. So, this is just the easiest recipe and it couldn't have turned out better. I used regular carrots (not an issue) and added parsnips! I originally made this recipe for St. Patrick's Day, but its going to be a regular in my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Excellent! I used a 4 lb corned beef brisket, tasted great didnt realize how fatty it was though, it fed 5-6 people. Flavors were great. I put the corned beef off bottom and cut in half. Used more liquid mixture to cover meat completely in crock pot and still just used the 1 packet of seasoniNgs that comes with the meat. I didnt have red potatoes so i used medium russet potatoes cubed. Next time i think i will cut in half though they were mushy. Cabbage was perfect, just cut in fourths and placed on top directly under lid. Great recipe for flavors just needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was the worst, So happy it wasn't for company. I have been cooking for many years and had a flop or two but I didn't even see this one coming. The corned beef was ok but what a waste all the veggies were mush the cabbage was purple, it was green when I added it. I even read the reviews. Didn't think that many people could be wrong. They made me rate this or I couldn't post really I would rate no stares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I've always liked corned beef and cabbage, but the addition of cider vinegar and sugar made this a little more special. I will make it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States