Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I love to make this! I also add a pinch of cloves for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Sprunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I've used this recipe several times. A few alterations, I use a 6-qt slow cooker with the corned beef on the bottom followed by carrots and potatoes, then squeeze in as much of a head of cabbage as I can fit, adding the remaining cabbage after a few hours of cooking when it's had time to cook down a little bit. After the full 9 hours of cooking time the corned beef is flavorful and falling apart and the veggies are tender and delicious. My family absolutely loves it and any leftovers (if there are any) have never gone to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very easy to follow recipe. Used a slow cooker and cooked it over a 6 hour time period. The corned beef was perfect as well as the vegetables. I love to take some of the left overs and use them for breakfast with a couple of fresh eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Jones

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
is good for this dis...HOWEVER. my cabbage and carrotts (stringbeans i added) were done in 4 hours. So i took out and then put roast back with some more cabbage and veggies Icouldnt fit in the first time. Would be too mushy if you left it alone for 8-10 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
The idea of cooking the corned beef in the slow cooker is a good one, and I liked the combination of cider vinegar and sugar as a base for the cabbage, but the end result was bland bland bland (except the meat which I bought pre-marinated). I didn't care for the carrots. I ended up taking some of the liquid, adding more cider vinegar S&P, boiling it and stewing the cabbage for 10 more minutes to give it some flavor. Next time I'll just cook potatoes and corned beef in the slow cooker and make cabbage separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I gave this 4 stars because I did not stick to the recipe exactly. I did not use potatoes and I added a beef bullion cube to the water. My family has never eaten corned beef before (except for deli meat) so I didn't want to overwhelm them. I served with brown mustard and enjoyed this very much. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This turned out ok. Not much to say other than it was easy to make using the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delicious! The only trouble is we couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I read all of these comments and I really don't understand how anyone could say this recipe isn't awesome. It has to be the cut of meat. Ours turned out amazing. It was sooo tender and tasty. I followed the recipe and put the veggies in first. I also added a can of Guinness. The only vinegar I had was rice vinegar so I used that. I also doubled the garlic because we are huge garlic fans. Other than that I did this recipe and WILL do it again. I do have a 6 1/2 qt. crock pot.. I can't imagine using a smaller one... I put everything including the cabbage in the beginning. The cabbage had a wonderful flavor even if it was really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We use a few more onions and follow the rest of the recipe as written. It can be difficult to get all ingredients in the crockpot. Cooking in the slow cooker makes the most amazing cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States