Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Best corned beef and cabbage I've made or tasted. My in law's corned beef always was soooo dry every year, so I was nervous making my first one. This was delicious, falling apart, and moist! I've made this recipe now for the last 5 years. Sometimes I have omitted the cabbage, just cause I don't like it - turns out just fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
needs couple hours more cook time for beef AND cabbage wedges use silicone chicken lifter , then lift out and put in potatoe carrot and onion, THEN MEAT and cabbage on top. USE JUST 1 T vinegar and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this today for St. Patrick's Day. It was the best ever. The corned beef was perfect and all of the veggies were done. I cooked it 6 hours on high and found the way it called to layer it made a difference. The meat was tender but not falling apart which was perfect. This is a keeper for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Halethorpe, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
We liked the flavor of this recipe though I think the vinegar could be cut in half. I used my large cooker and had no problem fitting everything in and should have put in more potatoes (used red potatoes and left skins on). I didn't want the cabbage to be too mushy, so I intended to put it in the last two hours of cooking...and then totally forgot and had to cook the cabbage in the microwave. All came out well enough and it was a great dinner. UPDATE: 3/15/14 I put all the root vegetables on the bottom and sides around the meat. I used 4 cups water, and it still did not cover the meat. So, I peeled a couple of leaves off the cabbage and laid them over the top of the meat to hold in moisture. Then the remaining cabbage was added 1 1/2 hours before the done time of 10 hours. The meat was fairly tender, but not quite as moist as I would like it to be. I'm deciding that corned beef just needs to be on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is my go-to Corned Beef recipe. Easy and soooo tasty. I omit the cabbage because I'm not a fan, but otherwise have always been true to the rest of the recipe. This last attempt I added half baking potato and half sweet potato. The sweet potato was AMAZING in it. I think I'll just use sweet potato next time as the baking potato gets a little too acidic tasting for my preference. I'm also thinking about pureeing the remaining vegetables in our leftovers tomorrow night and making a veggie/potato mash. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is my go-to corn-beef recipe and I haven't met anyone who hasn't enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xulox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
My husband loved this. I ended up not using any carrots because we didn't have any, and I upped the amount of cabbage. Very good and easy, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRESHSTART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Tried this recipe. Did not use carrots because the kids do not like them cooked, it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States