Corned Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very, very tender and not dry. Did not use salt as others recommended-glad I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I didn't add any salt and this was a fabulous corned beef. Much better than boiling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
RE: CalliCo's review; you may well be right about the extra water leeching out the salt but a better way to do it would be to soak (changing every couple of hours) in water overnight in the fridge. To much water will still put you into the boiling catagory. I had a recipe for "roasted" corned beef but lost it. We've improvised and indeed, it is a bit salty. Soaking helps a lot. Aside from that this is a superior method. Esentially braising. I finish up with open roasting and/or broiling to carmelize the surface. Much more appealling than boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
My 3.67 pound corned beef took 3.5 hours to cook at 350. "Corned" refers to the beef being cured or pickled in water saturated in salt; therefore, no salt was applied, just the packet. Boiling is easier, but this was a good alternative; however, some corned beef is saltier than others and mine was VERY salty. I "saved" it by soaking it in water until it tasted just right. Soak it for only a few hours - not all night, or it'll take ALL of the salt out rendering the corned beef essentially tasteless. My family had it the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I did this recipe in the slow cooker instead and did not add the salt. It turned out fantastic! My family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I made this 3/17/08. I believe I have found the recipe for me! I added cabbage during the last 1 1/2 hours. This turned out awesome. This was by far the best corned beef I have ever made. My husband really liked it and made sure he got the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
My family and I loved this recipe (even my 4 year old that will not eat anything). The Corned Beef does have a strong flavor when done so I would not recommend this to someone who likes their food with subtle flavor. One warning is it does not need more salt added. Part of the strong flavor does come from the salt already added to the corned beef. I would definitely make this again. Since this review I made the recipe many times. I also made it in the crock pot and it worked very well. I cooked it on low for 6 to 7 hours and when it had an hour left I added the potatoes and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
It just took forever to cook, but the end results were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Can you say SALT. Try the Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches" to see what good corned beef should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Tried this but it is too salty and we only ate a few mouthsful. I think you need to cover the meet with liquid to pull out the excess salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States