Corned Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
BEST corned beef ever! I read online that steaming is the key to a moist, flavorful corned beef so I tried this. I did not cook the veggies with my meat but followed directions very closely. I poured a bottle of dark beer into the roasting pan and added enough water to come up about an inch in the pan. Put the flat cut beef on a rack in the pan and sprinkled the pickling spice packet and chopped garlic over the top. Sealed pan very tightly with heavy duty foil and cooked in oven about 2 1/2 hours (I had a 2 lb roast) Let it rest, sealed while I roasted our garlic red potatoes. When we took the foil off I was shocked at how the meat had barely shrunk, and the beautiful color and tenderness. Tasted wonderful - I will never make a corned beef any other way! No more boiled to death St. Paddy's dinner for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Great way to make corned beef. I used a 'lower sodium' cut and rinsed the meat well before placing in the pan and glad I did! It was still quite salty for our taste, but good nonetheless. Tender, juicy meat with great flavor and tender veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I know it drives some readers nuts ("its not the original recipe") but I had to make a couple modifications: ?no spice packet with mine so figured already seasoned-did soak overnight could have changed the water at least once to decrease salt; added some red wine to the braising water for flavor since no spice packet; and, couldn't fit the potatoes but did add a little celery. Braising it beat boiling it by a mile! Loved the reciped. My new favorite corned beed recipe! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattapoisett, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
In all the methods I have tried, this is my preferred corned beef recipe! Much better than stovetop, much better than crockpot, much better than other oven versions I've tried! Came out fork-tender, not tough or stringy at all! I think the key is the low temperature, for such an extended amount of time, covered tightly with foil. I followed the recipe exactly, and this was fabulous!!!! I will be making it this way from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
The longer it cooks the better. Definitely soak in water before cooking to reduce salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justadab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I am so happy to find such a simple and delicious recipe! Turned out really great. In fact I am making it again as I type this review. I put the brisket on top of the cut onions, and used sm red potatoes lft whole with the skins left on. I have a friend that has been a Chef in Alaska for over 30 yrs and she asked for the recipe. Now that's a compliment! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was excellent! Followed advice to rinse meat before cooking and cooked for 6 hrs. on high in crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very good, and easy, recipe. I wouldn't add any salt whatsoever though. Even after washing, you still get enough salt from the beef. I used my slow cooker instead of the oven this time, and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I cooked this in the oven and made another in the crockpot... while they both tasted great we all agreed throwing it all in the crockpot was better. Didn't shrink as much, and was moist compared to the oven roast. Will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NH Recycler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was good but I made some changes. I put it in a slow cooker, added 3 cups of water, 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar, 2 tablespoons of sugar and cabbage. It was great. Oh ya, I also added a bay leaf and some fresh garlic. Was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States