Corned Beef Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
My mom made this frequently & I have many times too. We don't ad broth to make mushy potatoes. We cut potatoes in 1" cubes & fry in Crisco till almost done with onion, garlic, salt & pepper. Drain off Crisco then add corned beef in chunks. Continue cooking until some of the potatoes & some beef is crunchy & most is moist. We've always used canned corned beef because it makes a quick, inexpensive meal for a tired working parent with salad & green veg. Never had it with eggs though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
square patties with over easy egg on ciabata bun...um yeah, pretty wicked. Thanks for all the inspiration everybody
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kickback73
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I love this recipe. It tastes just like my mom's. The only difference I made was I browned my potatoes and onions before I added the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This makes a tasty, easy, quick and cheap mid-week supper which Mr P. hoovers up every time. I cut down the potatoes to 3 - 4 (depending on size of the spuds) and there's still enough left for another meal for the next day or for the freezer. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I loved the idea of beef broth. I just changed the way I cooked it. I cooked potatoes, onions and 1 clove of garlic with some olive oil, bacon grease and a little of the broth. Removed from pan and then I put the corned beef in my food processor. I deglazed the pan with some more broth and set juice aside. I used some bacon grease and more onions and 1 clove of garlic and browned the corned beef. You have to pat the ground beef with a spatula. I then took the potatoes which should be still in cubes, but browned with the corned beef. Add some pepper and salt. Delicious! You can also add more beef broth which was used to deglaze the pan if it is too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Marie Patz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe to a T, but the texture of mine came out pretty odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Delicious but definitely only use 3 large potatoes as others suggested! My entire family ate it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
My husband LOVED this recipe. Never made it before and was so happy to find this. I cubed and cooked red and yukon gold potatoes and onions in about 2T olive oil for about 15mins on med/hi before adding Hereford Brand canned Corn Beef, I just set it on top of potatoes and gently mix and don't touch until ready to serve. Didn't have beef broth but substituted with Lipton Beefy Onion Soup mixed with 1 1/2c-2 cups water and 1/2 tsp Trader Joe's 21 seasoning spice and 1/4tsp pepper. It takes longer (45mins) with the added liquid but once it was all cooked down I think it really concentrated the flavors and was very Delicious and will make again Thanks to such a great recipe. Hereford Corned Beef is about the best quality you can buy at a regular grocery store. Not easy to find but much much better than Hormel. We stock up when we find it. I sometimes can find it at Longs Drugs, CVS, Walgreens, surprisingly enough. At one time Costco use to carry it but not any longer. Hope you like the changes and thank you so much Jodi for sharing. Check out the video they made. I'll have to try it with corned beef brisket, I bet it's really really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DutchCanadian
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
What a great recipe! I used four medium taters, one medium onion and a normal tin of corned beef. I added very little stock, potatoes have a lot of water in them. Near the end when the potatoes were fork tender, I added a few tbsp of butter and lightly browned it. Best dinner I've had in a while. Reminds me a lot of stampot, with is a Dutch dish much like this. Served it with cabbage on this beautiful St Patricks day! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Bland and too many potatoes. I used 2 cans of corned beef, 1 large white onion, and a 32 oz. bag of diced potatoes (southern style hash browns). I browned the corned beef first, then added the onions and potatoes and cooked for short time. Then added broth, covered and cooked til potatoes were done. I did add a few dashes of hot sauce to add a bit more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States