Corned Beef Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and it came out just okay. I added some garlic and onion powder and transferred the mixture to a wider saute pan to saute the entire mixture over high heat so that there was a nice brown crust. It was MUCH better this way! I served it over a toasted english muffin with 2 poached eggs & hollandaise sauce (just from a packet). yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Soooo good yet so easy! Impossible to go wrong with this recipe. I use about half the amount of onion and potato unpeeled. I also add black pepper and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Very good recipe. I had leftover boiled potatoes from the boiled corned beef and cabbage dinner and also some leftover mashed potatoes. I put all together in the skillet with the onion and I had no beef broth so I used one beef bouillon cube in a cup of water. I used about 1/2 the water, since the potatoes were already cooked. Warmed on the stove in the skillet, everyone thought it was excellent. I might try a bit more of the broth next time to make it a bit more moist but overall excellent. And a great way to use the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent and so easy. My sister's mother-in-law made it using left over beef or prok roast also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was really good and easy. It definitely needs salt and pepper and I think it would be much better with fresh corned beef instead of the canned, but I will definitely make it again even if I don't have fresh corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I don't understand the high rating for this dish ~ I followed the recipe exactly and it was a pile of mush in the skillet when the diced potatoes were cooked and the moisture had evaporated... the only flavour was salty corned beef .. nasty! It would have been better if the potatoes were partially cooked separately, then seared in a skillet with a chopped onion and the corned beef ~ omitting the liquid altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Just the recipe I was looking for! Used leftover corned beef from the slow-cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage recipe on this site and used red potatoes. Next time will try yukon gold potatoes and cabbage to mimic a recipe from a favorite local breakfast place. Kids liked it so much I went and bought two more corned beef briskest to out in the freezer. A new favorite in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
AMAZING! Granted, I made some alterations, but the recipe, as written, is a great jumping off point. First, I used leftover corned beef brisket (approx. 11 oz.), 2 medium red potatoes, 1 medium yellow onion, the cooking liquid from the corned beef, and a little beef bouillon (Better Than Bouillon, which comes in a jar, actually). I cubed the potatoes into 1/4" pieces, did the same with the onion, tossed them into a large skillet in a single layer, spooned in a little less than a tsp. of bouillon, and added enough liquid to cover them. Next, I chopped up the corned beef EXTREMELY finely - the beauty of this recipe is that it isn't hard and dry like other recipes tend to be, and part of keeping it so nice and moist is that the pieces of meat need to be tiny without being meat-paste so that they can really soften up in the cooking liquid. After the meat was chopped, it was added to the pan and everything was covered with the lid. Cranked the heat up to bring to a boil, then reduced to a medium heat for 10-15 minutes, 'til the potatoes were soft. The next part is crucial for getting a really amazing crust on your hash if you plan on frying it up. You must STIR the mixture rather vigorously until the potato cubes no longer have corners (don't mash them, just literally stir until they release some of their starch into the remaining liquid). Boil off the remaining liquid with the lid off, then start another pan over heat and fry 'til crispy and brown. Top with an egg over easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Chow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Very tasty for an easy meal using leftover corned beef. I made it as stated but did use only 5 small-med potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great made with leftover corned beef brisket. Did not need extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States