Corned Beef Hash (Abalos style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
My mom is from the Philipines and made this all the time. It's exactly how she made it except no potatoes which you don't really need since it's served over rice. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nataliamomof3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Very good hash recipe. I suggest cutting up the potatoes into very small cubes though. Mine ended up being too big and so it took quite a bit longer to cook. Tasted good and the tomatoes added a nice extra flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This is just the way my Filipino dad makes it, too! I had no idea other people did this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I used leftover cornbeef and it was wonderful. We had the tomato on the side along with fried eggs! Comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Yum! I served this with a poached egg on top. A quick & easy meal for anytime of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Updated: I'm still making this dish after saving it more than two years ago. Tonight I tried it with a can of New Zealand Corned beef which seemed to be packed oil. The end result was too liquidy. I'll stick with the cheap can of corned beef from now (Libby's). Inexpensive, satisfying and very easy to make! Good for a quick meal, especially for those who don't have a lot of time to cook during the week. I added soy sauce and red pepper flakes since I like my food a little spicy, and served over steamed rice as suggested. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I will never make corned beef hash any other way. Quick, easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This is great!!! When my mom was away for about a week, the responsibility of cooking fell to me (her 16 year old daughter lol)... I knew everyone in my family loved corned beef so I found your recipe and it was an instant success!!! I cut out the potatoes because I served it with rice. The only problem I had was that the tomatoe juice made the whole thing really runny - but it still tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Very good hash and quick to make. I did chop the potatoes small so they would cook quickly but the next time I make this I will chop them a little larger and precook a bit before adding. I also think more sliced onion and garlic would do this dish proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
My Filipino husband loved this! I'm always looking for authentic Filipino dishes to cook for him, so keep them coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States