Cornbread that is a Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
This dish was hit w/my pickey toddler and husband. My husband requested I make this dish when his parents visit us next. I felt like a real chef! If feeding kids, you may want to substitute or omit the jaolpenos. My 18 mo old son didn't seem to mind them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Very good easy dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Used about 1/2 a can of green chilies instead of jalapanos as was mentioned here (picky eaters in my family). But prepared it as is otherwise, and EVERYONE raved on and on about it. My sister and mother and all the children and cousins and my dad. I thought it needed more salt, but everyone else said it was great as is. This is a great recipe for using up stuff in the pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Love this recipe! My husband went back for 3rds and took the leftovers to work the next day. I did put taco seasoning in the meat and added more jalapenos. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is a great hearty meal ! My family loved it ! I did make some changes though, for some flavor. When I cooked the ground beef, I added onion, garlic powder, pepper, a dash of season salt and a pinch of salt. Then when the meat was done, I added a can of manwhich sloppy joe sauce and added slices of cheese along with some american easy cheese by kraft. As the cheese melted and the manwhich blended with the meat, I snuck in a can of peas for some nutrition, lol. For the cornbread I used 2 boxes of jiffy mix, 2 eggs, and the creamed corn. I added my milk last which was a very little bit that I eyed, because I noticed that the creamed corn, helped smoothed out the batter as well. So I only added a little bit of milk to finish smoothing it out. Then I folded in my groud beef, placed everything into my buttered pan and placed in the oven. But instead of placing cheese on top of the cornbread, I made my cornbread like I normally would, which is to rub some butter on top of the cornbread so that it turns golden brown, but only do this once the top is firm enough to handle being touched. I didn't need the cheese on top cause I had cheese in the meat. In the end, this was great, quick and easy. I will definitely make this again !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
We like this one a lot. I made it with Turkey sausage and homemade cornbread. Because cornbread is traditionally cooked at 425 for 20 minutes, I upped the temp to 400 and had to cook it for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This is my husband's new favorite dish. I didn't add the peppers but it was delicious. He said he could eat it once a week. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Family loved this. Used 1.5 cups milk and took 40 minutes to cook. Will use 1 cups next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Awesome meal. A new family favorite to pass on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is such a quick and easy recipe to whip up during the week. I make a couple changes in that I used ground turkey and add a package of taco seasoning to the meat. I also do not add the jalepenos, but that doesn't see to make a big difference. Lastly, I set the temperature for 375 and cook for 25 minutes as that seems to work better than 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montague, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States