Cornbread that is a Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I loved this recipe, after I made some tweaks. I used a package of taco seasoning with the meat, omitted the onion, jalapeno slices, salt, and pepper (taco seasoning has most all that), and used 1 cup lowfat cottage cheese instead of cheddar (as the "Broccoli Cheese Cornbread" recipe on this site called for). I baked it for 60 minutes, but it still wasn't done in the middle, so I microwaved those pieces and they were fine. I used "Jiffy" brand cornbread, which is very sweet; that, along with the can of creamed corn, overpowered the flavor of the taco seasoning, so I think next time I will add some chili powder. Note that skim milk works fine in this recipe. This was a super easy, filling, and large casserole, and I will definitely be making it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was good, but next time I would either use more hamburger or less cornbread and I love cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
This dish was hit w/my pickey toddler and husband. My husband requested I make this dish when his parents visit us next. I felt like a real chef! If feeding kids, you may want to substitute or omit the jaolpenos. My 18 mo old son didn't seem to mind them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This was pretty good. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and cooked the ground beef with pack of taco seasoning and fresh garlic and I doubled up on the jalapeño's and reduced the milk to a cup. I also increased the cheese by 1/2 cup putting 1/2 cup into the mix and then 25 minutes into baking I put the balance on top. I must say it smelled great while baking and looked great coming out of the oven! The 20-25 min time is way off as noted by others, it took a good 50 min to cook through. Definitely glad that I tried it and will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I used this as a base to make mini muffin appetizers. I only used one 8 oz. box of corn muffin mix, 1 egg and after adding the cream corn it didn't even need more liquid. I used about 1/4 cup of chopped jalapenos and did sprinkle the meat with garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I really loved this recipe! I love cornbread, and this was a great main dish that filled me and my husband up. I used one half water and one half milk for the liquids. I also did not have jalapenos, so I used drained Rotel tomatoes which were delicious in the cornbread. Also, I served it with a side of baked beans, which went well with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This is a good one! The perfect family meal. I didn't have any jalapenos lying around so I used a 4 oz. can of diced green chilies and it was just right. Even our 1-year-old digs it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Used about 1/2 a can of green chilies instead of jalapanos as was mentioned here (picky eaters in my family). But prepared it as is otherwise, and EVERYONE raved on and on about it. My sister and mother and all the children and cousins and my dad. I thought it needed more salt, but everyone else said it was great as is. This is a great recipe for using up stuff in the pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is a great hearty meal ! My family loved it ! I did make some changes though, for some flavor. When I cooked the ground beef, I added onion, garlic powder, pepper, a dash of season salt and a pinch of salt. Then when the meat was done, I added a can of manwhich sloppy joe sauce and added slices of cheese along with some american easy cheese by kraft. As the cheese melted and the manwhich blended with the meat, I snuck in a can of peas for some nutrition, lol. For the cornbread I used 2 boxes of jiffy mix, 2 eggs, and the creamed corn. I added my milk last which was a very little bit that I eyed, because I noticed that the creamed corn, helped smoothed out the batter as well. So I only added a little bit of milk to finish smoothing it out. Then I folded in my groud beef, placed everything into my buttered pan and placed in the oven. But instead of placing cheese on top of the cornbread, I made my cornbread like I normally would, which is to rub some butter on top of the cornbread so that it turns golden brown, but only do this once the top is firm enough to handle being touched. I didn't need the cheese on top cause I had cheese in the meat. In the end, this was great, quick and easy. I will definitely make this again !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This was quite good! Hubby and I both like it and it has been added to my list of keepers. I use a small can of green chiles instead of the jalepenos. I do think it could use a bit more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States