Cornbread that is a Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe was awesome. I might add a few more onions next time,but my family really enjoyed it. It will become a staple in our house. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This was pretty good. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and cooked the ground beef with pack of taco seasoning and fresh garlic and I doubled up on the jalapeño's and reduced the milk to a cup. I also increased the cheese by 1/2 cup putting 1/2 cup into the mix and then 25 minutes into baking I put the balance on top. I must say it smelled great while baking and looked great coming out of the oven! The 20-25 min time is way off as noted by others, it took a good 50 min to cook through. Definitely glad that I tried it and will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I give it a 4 as is, but when I altered it, a definite 5 stars. I followed advice of others and added spices to meat mixture (chili powder, cumin, mexican oregano, garlic) reduced milk to 1 cup (I think that is the problem with it not getting done in time. Added smoked green chiles to the meat mixture and cornbread (1/2 & 1/2) Didn't mix the meat in with the cornbread, just put down half cornbread mixture (w/cheddar) and put meat on top of that and topped w/remaining cornbread. Baked 25 min and it was perfectly done. Will make again using maybe chicken or even diced ham. So many possibilities with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is what I did with this recipe...I seasoned hamburger w/ generous garlic salt, onion powder, and jalapeno salt. I added 1 lg red bell pepper, 3 fresh med. jalapenos, 1 clove of garlic-all finely minced. I used Martha White cornbread mix and baked as directed on pkgs splitting the heat to 375 for 40 minutes. Then I added sliced tomatoes and mexican shredded cheese mix for another 10 minutes, let set for 10 minutes and then served with sour cream dollop. My husband loved this as did ALL my co-workers, who thought it was a breakfast casserole. :) Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Love this recipe! My husband went back for 3rds and took the leftovers to work the next day. I did put taco seasoning in the meat and added more jalapenos. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I loved this recipe, after I made some tweaks. I used a package of taco seasoning with the meat, omitted the onion, jalapeno slices, salt, and pepper (taco seasoning has most all that), and used 1 cup lowfat cottage cheese instead of cheddar (as the "Broccoli Cheese Cornbread" recipe on this site called for). I baked it for 60 minutes, but it still wasn't done in the middle, so I microwaved those pieces and they were fine. I used "Jiffy" brand cornbread, which is very sweet; that, along with the can of creamed corn, overpowered the flavor of the taco seasoning, so I think next time I will add some chili powder. Note that skim milk works fine in this recipe. This was a super easy, filling, and large casserole, and I will definitely be making it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Taste great! I added 1 1/2 onions and 1/2 cup extra cheese and sprinkled cajun seasoning on the cooked meat. Now... the cooking time or temp is way off! I spent an hour and a half trying to get it to cook! Oh and put the cheese inside not on top it gets to brown on top while your trying to get it to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This is my husband's new favorite dish. I didn't add the peppers but it was delicious. He said he could eat it once a week. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Very Good!! Get a 4 star because it takes about 45 minutes to cook, not the 20 listed. Can't wait to flavor the beef with different seasonings. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplepin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osage, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This one was ok. A little bland. The hubby added ketchup for his flavor. The 13yr old boy loved it and went back for 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States