Cornbread that is a Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This recipe is very versatile and almost fool proof. I added a pack of taco seasoning to the meat after browning and 4 teaspoons of diced jalapeno slices.If you want the meat to have an extra kick I suggest doubling the teaspoons of chili. Only used 1 cup of milk for corn bread mix as others suggested. Then I layered bread,meat,cream corn and bread,then sprinkled the top with grated monterey jack cheese. Baked it for about an hour and it came out beautiful and marvelous! My husband and I went back for thirds and he said it tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xstal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I DONT LIKE GIVING BAD REVIEWS BUT THIS WAS YUCKY..IT TOOK A LONG TIME TO BAKE AND NONE OF MY FAMILY MEMBERS LIKED IT AT ALL. WE DID EAT IT , BUT WILL NOT MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amherst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Family loved this. Used 1.5 cups milk and took 40 minutes to cook. Will use 1 cups next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My husband and I were so looking forward to this recipe. On paper it seemed promising. It ended up simply tasting like corn bread. The beef was completely lost. We were trying to come up with ways to save this next time we made this, but just decided to give it up completely. I tried to bring it the next day as leftovers at work, but my husband just threw it out for me (we teach at the same school)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
very dissappointed, i tried the taco seasoning and extra cheese. not much flavor. maybe more meat and less cornbread would help. kinda soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindasue222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
We did not care for this at all which was disappointing because it sounded so good. The center was gooey and the outside edges were dry after 25 minutes. It had a very bland flavor and you could not even taste the ground meat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This wasn't the best but it was ok. My 13 year old didnt like it but me and my husband thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Dry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I was excited about making this meal, but I wasn't excited about the outcome. It is missing something and I don't know what!! Although we did eat it... it wasn't one of our favorite's. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam-whitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suitland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I really loved this recipe! I love cornbread, and this was a great main dish that filled me and my husband up. I used one half water and one half milk for the liquids. I also did not have jalapenos, so I used drained Rotel tomatoes which were delicious in the cornbread. Also, I served it with a side of baked beans, which went well with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I used this as a base to make mini muffin appetizers. I only used one 8 oz. box of corn muffin mix, 1 egg and after adding the cream corn it didn't even need more liquid. I used about 1/4 cup of chopped jalapenos and did sprinkle the meat with garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States