Cornbread that is a Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Haven't been able to taste this recipe yet because the cook time is off. I have had it in the oven for 45 minutes and it still isn't done. Hopefully it will be worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is a great hearty meal ! My family loved it ! I did make some changes though, for some flavor. When I cooked the ground beef, I added onion, garlic powder, pepper, a dash of season salt and a pinch of salt. Then when the meat was done, I added a can of manwhich sloppy joe sauce and added slices of cheese along with some american easy cheese by kraft. As the cheese melted and the manwhich blended with the meat, I snuck in a can of peas for some nutrition, lol. For the cornbread I used 2 boxes of jiffy mix, 2 eggs, and the creamed corn. I added my milk last which was a very little bit that I eyed, because I noticed that the creamed corn, helped smoothed out the batter as well. So I only added a little bit of milk to finish smoothing it out. Then I folded in my groud beef, placed everything into my buttered pan and placed in the oven. But instead of placing cheese on top of the cornbread, I made my cornbread like I normally would, which is to rub some butter on top of the cornbread so that it turns golden brown, but only do this once the top is firm enough to handle being touched. I didn't need the cheese on top cause I had cheese in the meat. In the end, this was great, quick and easy. I will definitely make this again !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Mixed reviews in my house. My 8 y.o. daughter didn't care for it, my 4 y.o. son cleaned his plate, my husband thought it was good also & I'm on the fence. I agree with others, it's missing something. I TRY to stick as close to the recipe as I can the first time around to give an honest review. If you completely change it, you aren't giving an accurate review of this recipe. We have our beef processed in pound and a half pkgs so I used more hamburger and in mixing the cornbread I felt 1 cup of milk was plenty after mixing it up. Because most of my family doesn't care for jalapenos, I omitted those. I cooked my ground beef with the onion, added quite a bit of seasoned salt and some cumin and I still felt like it was a little bland. I baked at 350 for 25 minutes. It was pretty much done so I covered it with foil, turned the oven off & let it sit in there until my husband got home, about 15 more minutes. It was done through but I think the creamed corn gives it a texture or consistancy I didn't care for. Cutting back to 1 cup of milk is probably the key to getting it done in a shorter amount of time. I think this recipe has a lot of potential, maybe use sausage, bacon & some cream cheese and have it for breakfast??? I don't know if I'll try this again unless it will just be my son & husband at home eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Tasty recipe! I also followed the recommendation of adding taco meat and green chiles (instead of jalepenos) and it was very good. It did take an hour to cook but was still moist! Definitely would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I didn't really care for this. I don't know what it was, as I like ground beef and cornbread, guess I just don't like them together! I added some seasonings as other reviews suggested. It just still felt like it was missing something and I don't know what it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
We thought this was a very comforting and filling meal! I omitted the pickled jalapeno and added a can of drained diced tomatoes with green chilies, plus I used a cup of cheddar in the corn bread mixture and sprinkled with an additional cup over the top. Like others said, this definitely needs to cook about 45-50 minutes or it will be raw inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is such a quick and easy recipe to whip up during the week. I make a couple changes in that I used ground turkey and add a package of taco seasoning to the meat. I also do not add the jalepenos, but that doesn't see to make a big difference. Lastly, I set the temperature for 375 and cook for 25 minutes as that seems to work better than 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montague, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
You must cook this much longer than the recipe calls for...about 1 hr. I kept checking after 25 minutes like the recipe says the toothpick was not coming out clean....but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Good and easy! I cut out the jalapenos, but added a small can of diced green chilies and taco seasoning with the ground beef. I only used 1 3/4 boxes of corn muffin mix & 1 3/4 cup of milk. Baked for 40 minutes with foil covering, then 10 minutes without. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSHKARENWOLFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Awesome meal. A new family favorite to pass on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States