Cornbread that is a Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I didn't really care for this. I don't know what it was, as I like ground beef and cornbread, guess I just don't like them together! I added some seasonings as other reviews suggested. It just still felt like it was missing something and I don't know what it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
We thought this was a very comforting and filling meal! I omitted the pickled jalapeno and added a can of drained diced tomatoes with green chilies, plus I used a cup of cheddar in the corn bread mixture and sprinkled with an additional cup over the top. Like others said, this definitely needs to cook about 45-50 minutes or it will be raw inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is such a quick and easy recipe to whip up during the week. I make a couple changes in that I used ground turkey and add a package of taco seasoning to the meat. I also do not add the jalepenos, but that doesn't see to make a big difference. Lastly, I set the temperature for 375 and cook for 25 minutes as that seems to work better than 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montague, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
You must cook this much longer than the recipe calls for...about 1 hr. I kept checking after 25 minutes like the recipe says the toothpick was not coming out clean....but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Good and easy! I cut out the jalapenos, but added a small can of diced green chilies and taco seasoning with the ground beef. I only used 1 3/4 boxes of corn muffin mix & 1 3/4 cup of milk. Baked for 40 minutes with foil covering, then 10 minutes without. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSHKARENWOLFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Awesome meal. A new family favorite to pass on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Good Toddler food! I also added taco seasoning to the meat, makes it a bit spicy but our family likes it that way. I did not have creamed corn, so I used regular cooked frozen corn, worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was very filling. I tweaked the recipe using other reviews for inspiration. I doubled the meat, used mild green chiles and cooked 1/2 of them with the meat. I seasoned the meat with lots of pepper, garlic salt and taco seasoning (1-1/2 packages). I also added 1/2 cup cheddar cheese to the mixture and seasoned the whole thing up with more pepper, salt and garlic powder. I cooked it for 25 minutes and then added the cup of cheese to the top and baked it for another 25 minutes. It still tasted a BIT bland and I normally don't salt my food but a dash of salt made it perfect. My husband hasn't tried it yet but if he likes it, I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
While this sounded great, it is not a recipe I will do again. At least not this way. This took twice as long as the time it says to cook and it still was gummy. The cornbread only completely cooked around the edges. :( I added green chiles instead of jalapenos and some seasonings that my family liked and the taste was good...just wasn't cooked. If I did do it again, I would cut it in half and use a 9x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States