Cornbread that is a Meal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I make this recipe for dinner a couple times and my family likes it. Love cornbread and meat so it's all gooder. I don't have jalapenos but i just add some cajun spices and that's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Really did not like this recipe. Tasted mushy and was too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Really enjoyed this. I only used 1 pkg of corn muffin mix. I didn't change anything else! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Good for an easy dinner, served with a side salad or carrots and ranch. I added a packet of taco seasoning to my ground beef, increased jalapeños to 5T since we like spicy food, and I used my old stand-by (non-sweet) cornbread recipe instead of jiffy mix. I baked for about 25 min at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is a good dish but I agree with the others, there is alot of liquid which increased cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I thought this was really good, even though I didn't add the jalapenos (didn't have any.) My husband wasn't a huge fan, he thought it would have been better with jalapenos or something else, and my 3 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I left out the caned corn, and made a trditional recipie of corn bread with an extra 3/4 cup of milk and and estra egg. I also used fresh serano pepers, and some taco seasoning sated with the onion and burgar. My whole family liked it and I will definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Haven't been able to taste this recipe yet because the cook time is off. I have had it in the oven for 45 minutes and it still isn't done. Hopefully it will be worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is a great hearty meal ! My family loved it ! I did make some changes though, for some flavor. When I cooked the ground beef, I added onion, garlic powder, pepper, a dash of season salt and a pinch of salt. Then when the meat was done, I added a can of manwhich sloppy joe sauce and added slices of cheese along with some american easy cheese by kraft. As the cheese melted and the manwhich blended with the meat, I snuck in a can of peas for some nutrition, lol. For the cornbread I used 2 boxes of jiffy mix, 2 eggs, and the creamed corn. I added my milk last which was a very little bit that I eyed, because I noticed that the creamed corn, helped smoothed out the batter as well. So I only added a little bit of milk to finish smoothing it out. Then I folded in my groud beef, placed everything into my buttered pan and placed in the oven. But instead of placing cheese on top of the cornbread, I made my cornbread like I normally would, which is to rub some butter on top of the cornbread so that it turns golden brown, but only do this once the top is firm enough to handle being touched. I didn't need the cheese on top cause I had cheese in the meat. In the end, this was great, quick and easy. I will definitely make this again !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States