Cornbread and Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
My family and I had our first Christmas party last year, everyone had to bring a dish...this is what I brought. Everyone just luved it !! But I did something different (like I do with ever recipe). I baked all the seasonings with the cornbread instead of adding them in later. We're having another one this year, and everyone asked me to make EXTRA stuffing...wonderful recipe !!! I have some new ideas for this recipe (I did it for Thanksgiving 11-03)...bake the seasons and herbs with the cornbread mix, cook the onion and celery with the sausage, and use celery salt and celery seeds instead of garlic powered. Also, you can use the juices from your baked turkey for your broth...Excellent!!! I made 4 (3 for other people) pans of this stuffing for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MZLPORTER
Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I have made this recipe many times and it is my husband favorit. I have made a few chages, Instead of using sage I use sausage with sage, it's not as strong. I have also made this the day before. If you are going to do so DON"T add the broth until you are ready to put it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
i made this just as called for (but scaled up) and it was horrible. i was so embarrased on Thanksgiving. MUCH to salty, which i attribute to the garlic powder. i have never found a bad recipe on this site, so this was a huge let down for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
LOVE IT!!!! Since I made it a few years ago I am asked to bring it to every dinner I go to. It is so simple to make. One year I went to a catered event and was asked to bring this dressing. No one ate what the caterer's dressing. Even my sweetie who only like bread dressing admits this is way better than his. LOVE IT!!! LOVE IT !!! LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Everybody raved over this reciped and it was very easy - even with the cornbread being made from scratch! Hint: Make sure to break the sausage into crumbly pieces so it's even distributed throughout the stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I would recommend adding 1 cup of dried cranberries and 1 14.5 oz can of madarin orange slices (drained) to the mixture before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Songtan, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
I substituted the garlic powder for onion powder. And I used turkey sausage instead of pork sausage. Very good. Thanks Barbara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I made this stuffing recently for a dinner party and it turned out TERRIBLE! I don't know what I did to it because I followed the recipe exactly. I am a new cook so maybe the mistake was mine, but either way it was horrible. I threw it all away before the guests arrived and made Stove Top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lucedale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This is a family favorite now I have been making it for about a year no other stuffing will do now.It has so much favor and is so easy to make !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I dont know exactly what scmurphy (in reviews) did, but that person reallymust have screwed up! I bet she/he did garlic salt instead of powder. It's a simple mistake, but don't put crappy reviews in if you're not sure what you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States