Cornbread and Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This recipe is close to the one I have been making for some 40 some years. I cook the celery, onions, and add mushrooms when cooking the sausage. I use hot sausage. It adds just the right flavor, not spicey at all. I also add the spices to the cornbread mix and then cook it. I use double the chicken broth. My family asks for the stuffing every year. It has become a family tradition and is being passed down to the coming generations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
not what I had hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Very surprising flavor and easy to make. It is important to remember that the purpose of stuffing is to enhance a meal, not to be the focal point. One note of caution: If you're idea of stuffing (both in taste and ease of making) is of the synthetic variety, a la "Stove Top)," this recipe isn't for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Made this for Christmas. As a tip, I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and everyone loved it. I also made it in a 9" x 13" cake pan, because that is what I had at the time. It worked fine. Used sage sausage as others suggested and then eliminated the sage. Worked perfectly. Stuffing can dry out easily though if left to keep warm. When warming, drizzle a little extra broth over top and cover. This is the third stuffing I have made, looking for the perfect one and I must say that the other two that I made were much more complicated and this one is the best. My search is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Everyone enjoyed it. Pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
So Good!!! I took the advise of someone, and used the sage sausage, and omitted the sage. I also didn't bother making the cornbread...I just used the boxed dry bread. You've got to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
My husband loves this recipe and now my office does too. I made it for an office pot luck and it was the belle of the ball! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clyde, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made a half recipe to test it before taking it to our Thanksgiving Dinner. We loved it! I always make a 9x13 pan of stuffing for Thanksgiving and usually bring home at least half of that. This year I wanted something different from the stuffing we've had every year for the last 42 years! This year was different...I made a 9x13 pan of this recipe and only had 1 small serving left. We nibbled on that while doing the dishes. This is a keeper in our family and will probably be made for the next 42 years LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
fantastic!! very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I will never go back to regular stuffing again! I used chicken broth, and used minced garlic in place of the powder... Other than that, this recipe is perfect, Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZenBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States