Cornbread Stuffing with al fresco® Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I am allergic to Apples so I did leave them out but I did follow the rest of the recipe and liked what it tastes like but I just don't think it was done correctly. The cornbread is very dry and it is a little bland in flavor. I do like the dried cranberries in this recipe with the sausage as it is a nice compliment. I could make this again but feel that my stuffing recipe is better than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I thought this was really good. The recipe should be revised to brown the sausage separate from the onions and celery. The only real downfall was how terribly dry it is, and I even doubled the chicken stock. You need to use enough stock to really get all the cornbread chunks wet. Other than that, flavors were really good. I used Jiffy mix for the cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I probably wouldn't have tried it had I not had a coupon for the sausage. It was bursting with flavor and I like a recipe with flavor. I probably wouldn't make it again only because no one else would help me eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Totally loved this, one thing I did was add a tablespoon of heavy cream and extra salt an pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I really don't know what to say about this recipe. It's like nothing I've ever eaten before. It's not like dressing in the South, so I had to get that idea out of my head. Because of the other reviews, I used 2/3 cup chicken broth, and it needed every bit of that. It still did not come out moist, but it wasn't bone dry either. It's too sweet as a side dish for me and isn't something that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I made my own cornbread for this recipe using Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site, and it is so moist that it took quite a while to dry it out to use for the recipe (but totally worth it!). Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. I thought it was a little dry from what I've made before, but it's at least a beginning in the right direction! I do like the sausage cut in smaller pieces. Thanks, al fresco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was a really good stuffing! Very quick and easy, plus a nice change of pace from the standard stuffing. I didn't add any cranberries (none on hand) and I used the Al Fresco breakfast sausage. I will definitely make this one again, great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I would have given it a higher rating but it was a bit dry. Needs more broth, excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I love stuffing with sausage, cranberries, and apples so was excited to try this. The sweet apple chicken sausage is a nice addition, but it does make it on the sweeter side--I liked it! I did dice the sausage instead of slicing it because it seemed like having larger slices would have been awkward and cheated by using bagged cornbread stuffing. The only complaint I have is that it would be very dry if only 1/2 cup of stock is used in the original presentation with normal cornbread. Add more to suit your taste and prevent overdryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
The sausage should have been browned first & removed from the pan & then the onions & celery sauteed & then the apples thrown in with the remainder of ingredients. My apples just turned to mush. I think it needs at least twice the amount of liquid. It was dry & I added more liquid beforehand. I also just poured all the pan stuff over the cornbread in the casserole dish, to keep it from becoming just mush. I then lightly tossed it to mix. This way it still had some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States