Cornbread Stuffing With Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I love this stuffing! I do use the neck and giblets to make my broth with a hunk of onion and the celery pieces that you'd normally toss. I strain the liquid and use this instead of purchased broth. As one reviewer suggested, I used all cornbread and everyone was delighted with the outcome. Was hoping we could have turkey, stuffing and cranberry sauce sandwiches on sub rolls with the leftovers, but there was only about a tablespoon of stuffing left. Of course, I did not let that go to waste! I often make stuffing for Sunday dinners with a roasted/baked chicken and this is the most asked for side dish! Delicious, easy and a BIG keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I didnt like the sausage i used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamalala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I didn't use cornbread but all bread stuffing from the large bag. I also added one egg to help bind. It came out moist and tasty but the sausage was a bit much so maybe more bread next time or one bag plus cornbread and a little more liquid. Not the best I have had but certainly a keeper none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Was my first time making stuffing, and it turned out great! I added chopped boiled eggs which was good. Next time I will add a little more broth for moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I had to make Thanksgiving dinner on my own and needed a stuffing recipe because I, quite frankly, have always hated it. This looked like a winner, both in prep and ingredients. I used 2 Jiffy cornbread mixes and had a fair amount leftover; Pepperidge Farm Herb Seasoned Stuffing Mix (I can't imagine our recipe giver Sal meant bread crumbs like Progresso), and just to save a step I took another reviewer's suggestion and used sage sausage, therefore omitting the 1 tsp of sage. I made the stuffing the day before Thanksgiving, then baked it the day of (I let it sit at room temp for about 20 minutes and then baked it per the regular directions). This dish was the hit of Thanksgiving dinner, so I decided I better see what all the fuss was about -- I could have eaten the entire pan! Delish! It had a little kick to it, don't know if that was from the sage sausage or all the onions, but wow! I will make this every year from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Just made this for a potluck and it's amazing! Now to make it for Thanksgiving and Christmas! If you're wondering how much cornbread you need to buy, I used two 6oz packages and had a little left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
i made this and it turn out great, omitted the sausage and it still was a hit at my family gathering. I added boil eggs and it was great! will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Clay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I love this recipe. I do however 1/2 the recipe and put it in an 8x8 or 9x9, depending on which pan I pull out. I usually just cook it for 30 min. I don't know if it helps, but after I have formed the cornbread into the dish I sprinkle it with chicken broth, (usually 1/4 C.). I also like to add 1 to 2 chopped hard boiled eggs. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My mother used to make her cornbread stuffing this way when I was growing up, and it's the best way I know to make cornbread stuffing. I start off by baking a small pan of cornbread by mixing one cup each of cornmeal and flour with 2 tsp. baking powder, and water. Once cooled, the cornbread is crumbled into a large mixing bowl along with the sauteed onions, chopped bell peppers, and celery. In addition to the pork sausage, we cook the turkey neck, gizzards, and the turkey heart in a small pot with 3 cups of water. The cooked meat is removed from the neck bone and chopped along with the cooked gizzard and heart, all of which is then added to the cornbread mixture. The remaining broth is added to moisten the stuffing with additional water as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States