Cornbread Stuffing With Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I had to make Thanksgiving dinner on my own and needed a stuffing recipe because I, quite frankly, have always hated it. This looked like a winner, both in prep and ingredients. I used 2 Jiffy cornbread mixes and had a fair amount leftover; Pepperidge Farm Herb Seasoned Stuffing Mix (I can't imagine our recipe giver Sal meant bread crumbs like Progresso), and just to save a step I took another reviewer's suggestion and used sage sausage, therefore omitting the 1 tsp of sage. I made the stuffing the day before Thanksgiving, then baked it the day of (I let it sit at room temp for about 20 minutes and then baked it per the regular directions). This dish was the hit of Thanksgiving dinner, so I decided I better see what all the fuss was about -- I could have eaten the entire pan! Delish! It had a little kick to it, don't know if that was from the sage sausage or all the onions, but wow! I will make this every year from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Just made this for a potluck and it's amazing! Now to make it for Thanksgiving and Christmas! If you're wondering how much cornbread you need to buy, I used two 6oz packages and had a little left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
i made this and it turn out great, omitted the sausage and it still was a hit at my family gathering. I added boil eggs and it was great! will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Grady-Clay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I love this recipe. I do however 1/2 the recipe and put it in an 8x8 or 9x9, depending on which pan I pull out. I usually just cook it for 30 min. I don't know if it helps, but after I have formed the cornbread into the dish I sprinkle it with chicken broth, (usually 1/4 C.). I also like to add 1 to 2 chopped hard boiled eggs. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My mother used to make her cornbread stuffing this way when I was growing up, and it's the best way I know to make cornbread stuffing. I start off by baking a small pan of cornbread by mixing one cup each of cornmeal and flour with 2 tsp. baking powder, and water. Once cooled, the cornbread is crumbled into a large mixing bowl along with the sauteed onions, chopped bell peppers, and celery. In addition to the pork sausage, we cook the turkey neck, gizzards, and the turkey heart in a small pot with 3 cups of water. The cooked meat is removed from the neck bone and chopped along with the cooked gizzard and heart, all of which is then added to the cornbread mixture. The remaining broth is added to moisten the stuffing with additional water as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nemunoz
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I used 4 cups of homemade cornbread and 1 cup of zesty seasoned bread crumbs. The stuffing was a tad dry and very spicy. The flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nemunoz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was fab! Added green onions when I made the cornbread. Did have to add a bit more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I mixed two cornbread stuffing recipes I found on here. I omitted the bread crumbs and made to bags of cornbread. I added sugar, 2tsp of sage and pepper to the cornbread mix prior to cooking, I used a chicken boullion cube since I live overseas and we do not have poultry season. I baked it all together and let it sit overnight. I mixed in 1 cup each of celery and onion and cooked it with my ground sausage. It was perfect. This was my first time making this recipe and it was soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andersonfam09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Absolute]ly delicious. I used all cornbread, no regular bread, this stuffing was to die for. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made this last Thanksgiving and will make this year also my 3 boys loved it and is the only stuffing they will eat now thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by familyrock1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States