Cornbread Stuffing With Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
After some changes, this stuffing turned out alright. I have to say, I really think the 5 cups of bread crumbs is a misprint. I only put two cups of crumbs and about half a cup extra of chicken broth and it came out fine. Unless you like really dry stuffing, i wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My son and I love this stuffing at Thanksgiving! I'd love to make it more often, but my wife isn't a sausage person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I want to say, I love to cook, and followed the recipe, adding some ideas from others. I put in some dried cranberries, as well as let the onion, celery & sausage sit in the fridge before mixing with other ingredients. I still found it to be dry and lifeless. At the least, add more chicken broth. Once I cooked mine, I placed more over it and will use it to reheat in the morning. I will say that to do this right, I think a dried chorizo sausage (think Whole Foods, not Kroger!) and maybe some poblano peppers to zest it up. It would be in need of gourmet ingredients, otherwise, it is on the bland side. It just is missing some kick and I can't quite place it. I am a vegetarian cook, so I am used to spices, but I just can't nail what is missing, other than trying this with higher end ingredients. Hope this helps. I think the recipe is a good one, just needs gourmet tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Minnesota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Great! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
The best stuffing. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Instead of sausage, I used maple cured bacon. Also, since I'm not a huge celery fan, I used only one cup. As well, I used only two or so cups of bread crumbs. The recipe came together beautifully, and neither me nor my company could stop munching on it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne Pigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I made this recipe last week, and it turned out excellent. I think my hand was a bit too heavy with the poltry seasoning, but, it still tasted great. My family loved it. I'll be making it this Thanksgiving as well. Thanks for an extremely easy and fantastic tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
THIS ACTUALLY HAD A GREAT FLAVOR-KIND OF ON THE SWEET SIDE ALMOST BUT I THOUGHT IT WAS WAY TOO DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I liked the stuffing okay, but I think it could have been better. I followed the recipe exactly and had way too many bread crumbs. I think if it wasn't so crumby I would have really enjoyed it. I used Jimmy Dean Maple sausage and added mild green peppers and that really added flavour. When I do it again I will cut the bread crumbs by at least a third I think, or use cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States