Cornbread Stuffing With Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I just made this for thanksgiving dinner and my VERY picky father-in-law loved it! He complimented me twice which must be a record. I was low in chicken broth so I used some dry white wine to supplement and it was really nice. only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made this stuffing for a Thanksgiving potluck at work. My coworkers all gave it rave reviews. We are still fighting over the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I've tried a different recipe every year, but this one is worth repeating. Definitely add you own favorite ingredients. I only have one oven, so I cooked some ahead in the crockpot and the rest in the oven after I removed the turkey. I liked the crockpot batch better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I was really disappointed by this recipe, my husband told me 5 cups of bread crumbs were way to much, I should have listened to him because this was to bready, I even added more broth, all I tasted was the bread crumbs. It was alteast edible though so I gave it 3 starts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dade City, Florida, USA
Living In: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This stuffing came out so well! My only suggestion would be to use a savory or spicy sausage. I used a brown sugar turkey sausage, and the sweetness overpowered the dish. In the future, I would make this with a nice spicy sausage to complement the sweetness of the cornbread. Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This is the bare-bones version of cornbread stuffing. I punched it up with dried cranberries (pre-soaked in some oj to plump) and grannysmith apples. and made cayenne cornbread for the kick. Still, this recipe works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
After some changes, this stuffing turned out alright. I have to say, I really think the 5 cups of bread crumbs is a misprint. I only put two cups of crumbs and about half a cup extra of chicken broth and it came out fine. Unless you like really dry stuffing, i wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My son and I love this stuffing at Thanksgiving! I'd love to make it more often, but my wife isn't a sausage person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I want to say, I love to cook, and followed the recipe, adding some ideas from others. I put in some dried cranberries, as well as let the onion, celery & sausage sit in the fridge before mixing with other ingredients. I still found it to be dry and lifeless. At the least, add more chicken broth. Once I cooked mine, I placed more over it and will use it to reheat in the morning. I will say that to do this right, I think a dried chorizo sausage (think Whole Foods, not Kroger!) and maybe some poblano peppers to zest it up. It would be in need of gourmet ingredients, otherwise, it is on the bland side. It just is missing some kick and I can't quite place it. I am a vegetarian cook, so I am used to spices, but I just can't nail what is missing, other than trying this with higher end ingredients. Hope this helps. I think the recipe is a good one, just needs gourmet tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Minnesota
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States