Cornbread Stuffing With Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Mine is just a little different and it comes out great. I use a roll of sage sausage and omit the additional sage seasoning. Also cook your cornbread a few days ahead of time, wrap tightly and store in the fridge. It dries out which is good for making stuffing :) Also, bread crumbs are to fine. I get a bag of dried bread chunks or toast old bread (white/wheat combo is fine) and add. I also only use one onion, about 1/2 cup celery and 1/2 cup green pepper and I don't cook it with the sausage. it goes into the stuffing mix raw and cooks in the oven. Finish off the mix with seasoning salt and fresh ground black pepper...the mixed peppercorns are great. add enough broth or water til sticky, but not drippy wet. Also if you are running short on time or don't like all the chopping, omit all the veggie chopping and use chicken broth with herb seasoning. College in makes a good variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Simple, easy and delicious during the holidays! We really enjoyed it. The sausage really adds that extra "something"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Centenar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Excellent simple recipe. This had really great flavor and was a hit on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made this at christmas and it was a big hit..Will be making it over and over again...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula West

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was really good! I made it for 2 different holiday dinners 5 days apart, and made some revisions the second time around. First time I used a sweet-type boxed cornbread mix, which I didn't like in this dish at all. Next time I just put about 1 cup (whatever I had left over from the first time) of cornbread in and about 9 cups of sourdough bread, crumbled. I left the crumbs a bit bigger the second time around and found the stuffing was much fluffier. I think cubed bread would be the best, rather than crumbs. I will definitely make this next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Great flavor. I'd never had this type of stuffing so I wasn't sure what to expect. It was a big hit with my entire family. I used store bought corn muffin tops to make the stuffing with to save time and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Easy and it was the favorite a dinner!! I'm already making it again and it's only Sunday! My kids want more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
as per stated in several reviews, I used all cornbread (from Jiffy mix) and wasn't impressed. Reminds me of scrapple. A bit too sweet for me. Was ok, probably won't make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paojava

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very popular and tasty traditional stuffing. I took the advice of other cooks and used about half of the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I just made this for thanksgiving dinner and my VERY picky father-in-law loved it! He complimented me twice which must be a record. I was low in chicken broth so I used some dry white wine to supplement and it was really nice. only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States