Cornbread Stuffing Southern Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
pretty good but 1) cornbread makes it quite sweet, probably too sweet for my taste for stuffing and 2) in the end it's pretty mushy so maybe dried out cornbread would work much better I think. Also I only did a little chili powder but not much because kids were eating too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I hadn't made the stuffing for Turkey Day because it was my husband's grandmother always did it. Well as they canceled Thanksgiving this year, I got to cook and I chose this recipe for my stuffing, revising it to some of the sugestions in reviews I'd read. It's WONDERFUL! I used sour cream in place of the yogurt simply because I already had sour cream in the house. I also used only 1/8 a tsp. of cayenne, and 1/8 tsp. sage. When I picked up the corbn muffin mix I got 2 different kinds, one white and one honey golden, just for giggles. My husband LOVES it (and he never ate much stuffing before)- I love it too except I think there is a lil too much oregano, so I will probably halve that next time I make it, but I WILL be making it again.. .it is now "THE" stuffing recipe for us.. in-laws or no!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Excellent recipe. It needs only about 30 minutes in the oven and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Wonderful! Next time I make it, I'll use half the butter though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I didn't use the green peppers, but I've already gotten compliments from the pitch-in about the little bit of kick that it has. Great Choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I made Thanksgiving dinner last year, and all I can say is. . . this was gone first. I added a couple of boiled eggs in, it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I like the fact that it does not call for sausage as many other cornbread stuffing recipes do. The only change I made was only adding 2 cups of chicken broth, and it was still very moist, 3 may have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I first reviewed this 12/5/05 and I've made this a lot since then. I have only one problem with this recipe, my 23 y/o daughter insists that we have this every single holiday. I'm ready for a change, but my family won't let me. Well I'm off to make the cornbread now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I used one dry cornbread mix and used dry cornbread crumbs. I used creole seasonings (in the produce section, Fresh Garlic, onions, celery, red bell peppers, and parsley). I also used sour cream instead of yogurt. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Delicious! Only change I'd make is less cayenne but otherwise, perfect stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States