Cornbread Stuffing Southern Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
No one ate the standard stuffing. Unfortunately, my fiancee is finding out what a great cook I am.... Might want to cut back a tad on the cayenne pepper though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Concord, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is definately Not Southern style! The only veggies that a true southern cook adds are, onions and celery that have been sauted in butter. Also the only spices that should be added are, salt,ground black pepper, and Sage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This recipe had good flavor & I liked how you are able to make the texture you want. However, it wasn't my favorite. I probably won't make it again so I'm giving 3 out of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very good recipe and its easy. I put a little to much red pepper in it but it was still good with a little POW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great recipe. To make it heartier I add a pound of ground sausage, just brown it separate and drain then mix in and put the dish in the oven on 350 for 15 to 20 minutes to brown the top and to remove some of the moisture because the original recipe comes out a bit moist for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Okay, this is a great recipe for the cornbread itself. You can even make it Parve!! But being from the south, I know this recipe does not cut it. It can be salvaged. Here is what I did. First of all, leave out the green pepper! Once you have combined the cornbread and broth mixture, add two beaten eggs. Put it back in the oven at 400 degrees for about 20- 30 minutes! I do love the spice the cayenne pepper adds to this recipe. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I tried to make this recipe vegan. Don't do it. Find another recipe. It was a mistake to use Hodgson Mills cornbread mix with flaxseed/water and so delicious yogurt. That cornbread started out less desirable. Then it was a big mistake to add 2 tsp of salt AND 2.5 cups of veggie broth. The result was edible, but a bit salty and not tasting anything like the stuffing i made 2 years prior when I wasn't a veg*n. Giving it three stars because it might have tasted good if I didn't change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DezC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wheatley Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was my first time making stuffing and I thought it was great and very flavorful for as simple as it was. It is strong..but it all depends on what you prefer. A lot of pple mentioned using less broth...but I used all 3 cups (of mushroom broth) and I thought it was a perfect consistency. We will see how the family likes it tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is the best stuffing EVER. This is a keeper yall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I browned it in the broiler for a few minutes, and I used red onion which gave it just a pop of color. I got lots of compliments on this dish at my office Thanksgiving dinner. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelReed

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States