Cornbread Stuffing Southern Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I used one dry cornbread mix and used dry cornbread crumbs. I used creole seasonings (in the produce section, Fresh Garlic, onions, celery, red bell peppers, and parsley). I also used sour cream instead of yogurt. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
I just made this for Thanksgiving. I increased the recipe by 50%. Added green onions instead of regular onions and a red pepper instead of a green pepper. It made for a very colorful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
I made this for Thanksgiving....It was great!!! It must of been the best dish served because it was the only one with NO LEFTOVERS. Even my three year old son, mr picky, ate it. My husband has it on the "request" list for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
As a base, this is the best!! It is very easy to "tweak" for your own personal tastes. I've found that adding several sliced mushrooms, and adding some cider vinegar to the mix make it even better. This has been requested as a regular for future holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
This recipe IS a lot of work but it's worth it. I served it for Thanksgiving and also had NO leftovers and received wonderful compliments. I was asked to make it for Christmas dinner too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This was very easy and very good! It has a nice twist of sweet and spicy. Even my fiance and his friend who don't like stuffing really enjoyed it. We ran out of onions so I had to leave them out and i added a bit more paprika. i'm not sure if making the cornbread ahead of time, letting it and then adding the broth might make it keep a bit more structure, but I'm thinking of trying that the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I remade this recipe & did some revising. In the end, my husband loved it while my teens liked it. Here is what I done. (1) I used only 1 1/2 cans of chicken broth (Use less if you want firmer or bake at 350 for 20 minutes if it's to soupy.) (2) I omitted the yogurt & added 1/2 cup sour cream. Big difference in taste. (3) I added another can of cream corn to mix. (4) I used garlic powder instead of cloves. (5) I used margarine instead of butter. (6) I added 4 tbsp of sugar for a sweeter taste. (7) I scooped everything into a micro safe dish and nuked on high for 5 minutes for extra firmness. Much quicker then oven. (Make sure to use a big enough bowl or it will spew over.) With this revised...I can give this recipe 5 stars! Takes about 30 minutes to prepare alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
A new Holiday favorite in my family! I used less Cayenne the second time I made it and did without the green bell peppers. This recipe is SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Oh my, what can I say about this easy recipe that was such a hit. My 16 y.o. daughter asked if she can make it for me and my family loved it. She has been asked to make it for several family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Delicious! Only change I'd make is less cayenne but otherwise, perfect stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States