Cornbread Stuffing Southern Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I had two problems: one, I thought the resulting mixture was too sweet, and, two, I must have made a mistake with the cayenne pepper, because it was also overwhelmingly spicy. I managed to remedy both problems more or less by dumping in some generic stuffing mix which I happened to have on hand, adding more broth to compensate, and finally throwing in some turkey sausage, finely chopped. The result was an interesting flavor although the texture a bit mushy due to the extra broth. I did bake it twice, which I'd do even if I hadn't improvised. If I make it again, I'll probably try cornbread mix instead of the muffin base. I skipped the green pepper (no one likes it in our family) but next time would probably use red pepper. I also left out the creamed corn only b/c it sounded so unappealing....maybe that was a mistake. But maybe it was worth it, because my daughter loved it, husband praised it and our guests seemed to like it. Once modified, the cayenne gave it a nice kick, so I'd say that's a keeper. (Honestly I think I put in 1/2 tsp by accident, it was that spicy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Been making this recipe for 2 years now and it's practically a family dish now! No changes made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is excellent and is now the only recipe I use for stuffing. Very easy to make and my family loves it. It's a must at thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I did not care for this recipe as written. Despite how many vegetables I cut up for this, in reality, all I could really taste was the cornbread. There was absolutely too much chicken broth called for, among other things. I could just as easily made the corn bread and mashed it up with a couple of sauteed vegetables. I would highly recommend reading, and going with, one of the altered versions of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving....my crew gobbled it up!! Delish...will use this next year also. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CurlyCaramelCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I omitted the bell pepper and halved the chicken stock and it came out great! I usually don't care for stuffing but really enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Just a note to say it fabulous in the crockpot as well. A big hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Best thing we ate on Thanksgiving! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was the first time I've ever made cornbread stiffing and it was the best I've had since Granny made it!!!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Hmmmm way too many spices, ended up being HEAVILY spiced. I used half the amount called for and was still a bit much, would cut spices to quarter, with exception of salt, and use 1-1/2 cups broth instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States