Cornbread Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I think this recipe may have turned out better for me, but i did not have and jalapenos, so i used onions and peppers instead, I thought it was a little dry and tasted too much like cornbread, it definately needs a little something. If anyone has any ideas to modify a little, love to try it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Yummmmm!! This is an easy recipe that is sure to please. I made a few adjustments and it turned out great. Instead of using jalapenos, I used a can of Rotel and I also used the HOT Jimmy Dean sausage. I had to adjust my cook times also, but overall it was great! I would definately make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E.Gee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great recipe! Green chiles work great as jalapenos may be too hot for some folks. Served with sour cream and a spicy hot sauce. Next time I'll use pulled pork....I think it will turn out tasting like tamales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasoncurrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My family really liked this recipe. I didn't have jalapenos so I use bell pepper and it still turned out good. I added a little extra cheese just because. :) I can't wait to try with jalapenos! Also, we topped with chopped tomato, shredded lettuce, and sour cream. Delicious as leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I just made this recipe. I don't think you need as much cheese as the recipe calls for. I also had to bake it longer than the recipe called for and my oven is brand new. Plus, I sauteed the onions with the sausage. All in all - good sticks to your ribs recipe. I froze two of them, I'll update my review on how they heat up in a few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEONCANDLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I got this recipe a couple years ago and have made it about a hundred times... just figured I would give a review with kudos! I have altered it a little to our tastes, we like it spicy! First, I hate jiffy (too sweet) so I can find a Texas Style brand bag at my WalMart but any of the other 6oz bags work. I use 3 or 4 because I make it in a 13"x9" pan (my hubby likes LOTS of leftovers for work). So i had to tweak the cornbread/water/cream style corn ratio. You don't want to much tho, or the cornbread is too overpowering. I use spicy sausage, lots of pepper jack cheese, mexican style cornbread in a bag, and as many jalapenos to completely cover. I do have to bake longer than specified, depending on what part of the country I'm in its anywhere from 10-25 min longer! Check it every 8 min after the time it should be done. If people are scared of spicy, leave off the jalapenos on half. I serve with sour cream, a lil extra sprinkled cheese, and a cold beer to extinguish the burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boyd, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Very good and easy. Don't have to put cream corn in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabreana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was really good. Like another reviewer, I too sauteed my onions with the sausage. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was awful; too sweet; I don't know what I was expecting, but a soft, doughy, sweet mess was not it. This was something I asked no one to taste not even my son who usually will try anything once. I threw it away. GT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
The recipe was good but I thought it was too much cornbread and not enough sausage. If I did it again, I would bake this in a smaller dish than a 9"x13" and only use one cornbread mix, not two. I would suggest to add a can of green chiles for a milder choice. I made this with a spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States