Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2000
Love to take this to "potlucks".Sometimes I add black beans and whole corn. It is very colorful and the taste is out of this world! Its worth trying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years and everyone loves it, some dont want to try it but then once they do they cant get enough, I add black beans, canned corn you can also use kidney beans its really endless what you do to this recipe. and I like more tomatos then it calls for. It is way better if made the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgarner67

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This recipe is great, especially in summertime. I always crumble a few crispy slices of bacon up in mine, and it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
Everyone loved this recipe. It was very, very easy and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Try this variation--also add chopped cucumber, chopped green onion and crumbled bacon that's been fried to a crisp, otherwise it will get soggy after it sits in the mayo, or you can use Miracle Whip or ranch dressing if you prefer. We are from southern West Virginia and put a scoop of this right smack in the middle of a bowl of fresh cooked pinto beans--yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This is very yummy. I only added 1/2 the amount of onion and it was still too much. Also this makes a lot of salad!!! I would recommend cutting in half unless you have a large group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I would have given this recipe 5 stars but i add a few more ingredients. We like more vegetables and crunch in the salad, so i chop up some cauliflower, cucumber, and celery along with the bell pepper and onion. WONDERFUL salad. and great served with pinto beans along side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Watauga, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
The first one or two bites is o.k. but after that it's just too much. It is very rich and thick. This is for people who could eat a spoonful of straight mayo without blinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Hmmmm, I'm not sure what I think of this salad, so I'm giving it 3.5 stars. It definately has a different type of texture, which I was expecting, but I think the green pepper was too overpowering, and I felt it could've maybe used more things added to it, like maybe black beans, bacon or even shredded cheddar or something. I halved the recipe and eye-balled the mayo until I thought it was the right consistancy. All in all, it tasted good, but I would definately cut down on the green pepper or omit it, and add in the extras. Hubby didn't care for this at all, but I didn't think he would due to his 'texture' issues, lol. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Love this recipe, my grandmother made this before and I liked it but hers had a little too much mayo. I cut the ingredients in half and the mayo and it came out perfect. I will definitely be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Hall, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States