Cornbread Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
I am not welcome at my husband's family functions UNLESS I bring this salad. Tried it for a Thanksgiving dinner a few years ago and it was a HUGE hit. There is significant prep involved, but I now use a mini-chopper which helps cut donwn on the chopping time. I do use a little less cornbread than what it calls for to make the cornbread layers a little thinner. I think this is an adaptable recipe -- I've used red peppers if I don't have enough green, green onions if I don't have enough regular onions. The only non-negotiables are the sweet pickles and the bacon. This is a standard in my repetoire now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
My family and I did not care for this recipe. Other recipes I have tried like this also had some pinto beans and lots of other ingredients. This recipe needs alot of help so you can taste more than corn bread and onions. Its a lot of work for not much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
This is a great recipe for church and family dinners. It is very pretty when prepared in a clear glass bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
When I first read this recipe I thought it sounded a little strange but we love corn bread and this salad was so good. My family just loved it. You just have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
The ruler I use for the success of a recipe is "how many copies of this recipe do people want?" This recipe was a total success. At least four people at the dinner asked for it. I used green/orange bell pepper (for added color)and made the corn bread in a cast iron skillet in the oven (added crispness). AWSOME. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
After fixing this for a Ladies' Luncheon, everyone asked me for this recipe! I think that the sweet pickles and juice are the secret to this dish. I use real bacon pieces instead of cooking bacon and just mix all ingredients together in a bowl. It is just as good and cuts the prep time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
I have made this recipe 4 times now and every time it has been a huge success. I make my own cornbread recipe and just put it in a 9x13 pan as I find this just as fast and probably wouldn't always have the mix in the house. Even the kids loved it. It is so different from the usual salad. Marilyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
I always make too much cornbread. Tasty way to use these leftovers and my husband LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was ok. I brought it to a family reunion and people liked it, but I personally didn't care for it all that much. Just a little too dry and bland. Maybe as one reviewer did I should have used less cornbread. It's different though and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Not a bad variation if you really like onions. It is simpler than the Cornbread Salad 1 recipe (which I still prefer) for more colorful presentation consider layters of chopped lettuce, celery, black olive, chopped cooked egg whites. Roasted peppers (yellow or orange make a nice addition) as do a few roasted chipotle or jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States