Cornbread Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Sounds strange but soo yummy!! I first discovered this in a woman's magazine & then came here so I don't have 1,003 pages ripped from a magazine in various folders. When I first read the recipe, I thought how bizarre but the reviews were good & I like all the ingredients so I gave it a whirl. I've made this numerous times & it's always a big hit. It's just a wonderful blend of so many fabulous flavors at once. To cut down on the mess, I bake the bacon for 20 min. at 350. Bake the cornbread, leave it cool. I Chop everything the night before & throw together the morning of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I liked this recipe-should have taken a photo of the layered bowl that I had it in before digging in though. I liked the crunchiness of the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe sounded so different that I just had to try it and can honestly say that I am glad that I did! Very unique and tastey salad. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I get so many compliments on this salad. It is wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
The onion and peppers over powered the salad. next time I will cut them down more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was edible, but why not just eat the cornbread without the extra calories? Such a weird mixture of flavors. It must be a regional thing. My husband and I are from the Mid-Atlantic and neither one of us liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was ok. I brought it to a family reunion and people liked it, but I personally didn't care for it all that much. Just a little too dry and bland. Maybe as one reviewer did I should have used less cornbread. It's different though and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
The ruler I use for the success of a recipe is "how many copies of this recipe do people want?" This recipe was a total success. At least four people at the dinner asked for it. I used green/orange bell pepper (for added color)and made the corn bread in a cast iron skillet in the oven (added crispness). AWSOME. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Not a bad variation if you really like onions. It is simpler than the Cornbread Salad 1 recipe (which I still prefer) for more colorful presentation consider layters of chopped lettuce, celery, black olive, chopped cooked egg whites. Roasted peppers (yellow or orange make a nice addition) as do a few roasted chipotle or jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
When I first read this recipe I thought it sounded a little strange but we love corn bread and this salad was so good. My family just loved it. You just have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States