Cornbread Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
I am not welcome at my husband's family functions UNLESS I bring this salad. Tried it for a Thanksgiving dinner a few years ago and it was a HUGE hit. There is significant prep involved, but I now use a mini-chopper which helps cut donwn on the chopping time. I do use a little less cornbread than what it calls for to make the cornbread layers a little thinner. I think this is an adaptable recipe -- I've used red peppers if I don't have enough green, green onions if I don't have enough regular onions. The only non-negotiables are the sweet pickles and the bacon. This is a standard in my repetoire now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I get so many compliments on this salad. It is wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
When I first read this recipe I thought it sounded a little strange but we love corn bread and this salad was so good. My family just loved it. You just have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
The ruler I use for the success of a recipe is "how many copies of this recipe do people want?" This recipe was a total success. At least four people at the dinner asked for it. I used green/orange bell pepper (for added color)and made the corn bread in a cast iron skillet in the oven (added crispness). AWSOME. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Sounds strange but soo yummy!! I first discovered this in a woman's magazine & then came here so I don't have 1,003 pages ripped from a magazine in various folders. When I first read the recipe, I thought how bizarre but the reviews were good & I like all the ingredients so I gave it a whirl. I've made this numerous times & it's always a big hit. It's just a wonderful blend of so many fabulous flavors at once. To cut down on the mess, I bake the bacon for 20 min. at 350. Bake the cornbread, leave it cool. I Chop everything the night before & throw together the morning of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
This is a great recipe for church and family dinners. It is very pretty when prepared in a clear glass bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
I always make too much cornbread. Tasty way to use these leftovers and my husband LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
I have made this recipe 4 times now and every time it has been a huge success. I make my own cornbread recipe and just put it in a 9x13 pan as I find this just as fast and probably wouldn't always have the mix in the house. Even the kids loved it. It is so different from the usual salad. Marilyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
After fixing this for a Ladies' Luncheon, everyone asked me for this recipe! I think that the sweet pickles and juice are the secret to this dish. I use real bacon pieces instead of cooking bacon and just mix all ingredients together in a bowl. It is just as good and cuts the prep time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
Excellent summer salad. One of my most requested recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States