Cornbread Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
I use a large bottle of ranch dressing (any flavor) instead of mixing up the mayo, sour cream, and dry ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinsley, Kansas, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
On a lark, I made this "odd-ball" recipe for a pot-luck at work. It was an absolute hit! I've since made it a number of times. Makes a great side for chili. I use ripe peppers instead of green - try roasting them first for extra flavor. I always make it a day ahead - it improves with more time in the fridge. The recipe holds up very well to modification -- add marinated artichoke, fresh basil leaves, pine nuts and substitute salami and romano (instead of bacon and chedder) for an Italian twist. Spice it up with roasted chipotle or jalapeno peppers - don't be afraid of trying other cheeses - smoked gouda or crumbled blue are delicious substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
It sounds really strange, but this is a great salad. I've made it twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly, and I thought the mayonnaise taste was too strong. The second time I reduced the mayonnaise to one cup and found that to be just fine. There was enough dressing, even with that reduction. I also took some other reviewers suggestion and just mixed everything together. I was taking it to a parish picnic and thought it would be easier that way. I would probably do that again in the future. Some reviewers said they thought it was better the second day, but I did not. I thought it was a little too moist, probably because the juice from the tomatoes was released. I highly recommend this for a different and tasty salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I added some lettuce and omitted the mayo and bacon. A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
My mom told me about this dish and I found the recipe. When I read the ingredients I was kind of hesitant, but I made it anyways with a bit of a change. I omitted the tomatoes, peppers, and onions and added 1 can of rotel (drained). I was very surprised at how good this was. This would be a perfect side dish at a picnic, BBQ, or any kind of warm weather get together. Will Definately make again just not as much as it does make a rather large amount. Next time I might spice it up with some chili powder or cayenne pepper added to the dressing. Might also drain the rotel into that dressing to help with the flavor more also. Thanks for this recipe my mom is glad to have it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
Absolutely the best salad recipe ever! Everytime I make it, there aren't any leftovers and everyone asks for the recipe. You won't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULDI

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Summit Point, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I made this recipe for the first time last summer for a family bar-be-que; not only was it pretty, it got rave reviews! Even my mom & sister [who both hate beans] were impressed! I find that the longer it chills, the better it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JABOOLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
It does sound a little odd, but this salad is very good! Another plus is that by using lite versions of the mayonaise, sour cream and cheddar cheese, and omitting the bacon, you can cut back on the calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Excellent. Used as part of a Mexican Night themed dinner for a group of 80. Since it was winter, I used canned tomatoes with jalepanos, onion and green pepper...definately made the result less dry. All was gone at end of evening and several asked for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This was a very nice salad. I cheated and went to the salad bar at my grocery store and scooped out calico beans, which were in a light oil and vinegar dressing and also while I was there, picked up the rest of the vegies. The other thing I cheated on was using a good bottled ranch dressing in lieu of making my own. I only did this because I was really pressed for time today. Rose, my kids thought this was the most interesting salad they've ever eaten and absolutely loved it! (I'm sure by tomorow the flavors will truly engage)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States