Cornbread Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Like the other reviews I wasn't sure of the ingredients. But this is the most amazing salad. I made it exactly as the recipe says and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I've made this several times and it's really a good dish for summer. Everytime I take it to a potluck I get compliments. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Definitely a unique layered salad. I skipped the bacon to keep it meatless and used freshly roasted corn which I sliced off the cob when cool. Once the salad was assembled and had time to chill for a bit, the ranch dressing had time to mellow and soak into the cornbread. While I liked the salad and kept tasting it as each bite contained something different, I did find it somewhat gloppy -- either some more veggies need added (the suggestion of crunchy lettuce is a good one) or less dressing is required. This salad seems to expand and grow as it's assembled and layered, so get out your largest glass bowl. ps. tastes better the next day (if there is any left).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I was skeptical to try this because it seemed so unusual but WOW, it is so good! Made it for a work potluck and it was a hit, in taste and presentation. Followed the recipe exactly, except I baked the bacon in the oven....I just think that is easier. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I thought this was pretty good.I used thawed frozen corn instead of canned.Next time I will half it because it made a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I used my own homemade dry ranch seasoning, red pepper instead of green and I used frozen corn. I didn't have pinto beans but I did have organic canned black beans so I used those. This was an interesting "salad", but in a good way. Next time, I think I'd cut back a bit on the cornbread and add a layer of shredded lettuce and maybe make a salsa-y ranch-y dressing. As is, we all enjoyed it. NOTE: The recipe dosen't say that you should rinse your beans and corn. If you use canned vegetables, it's always good to rinse and drain them well before using. It helps remove the ukkyness of the can and remove some of the salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made this for a group of ladies & it was a really big hit. It was still good, kept refrigerated, for several days later. Save some veggies & cheese for garnish on top to make a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I'm not sure why people say this recipe is odd. I live in East TN/SW VA and I have eaten similar recipies my whole life. It's an awesome recipe and dish. My husband loves it and makes it so there are never left-overs. You can also substitute Miracle whip for the ranch/sour cream/mayo and Jiffy corn muffin mix for the cornbread. We use this recipe but with Jiffy Mix it makes it a bit sweet - very nice and use kidney beans instead of pintos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Awesome recipe! My family now requests this at all our gatherings. I made it as is without changing a thing and it was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy1999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokomis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Oh my! This was delicious! I made the grandma's buttermilk cornbread from this site. Soooo good. Will def be making again soon! The flavors blend together great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Vickers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States