Cornbread Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I used my own homemade dry ranch seasoning, red pepper instead of green and I used frozen corn. I didn't have pinto beans but I did have organic canned black beans so I used those. This was an interesting "salad", but in a good way. Next time, I think I'd cut back a bit on the cornbread and add a layer of shredded lettuce and maybe make a salsa-y ranch-y dressing. As is, we all enjoyed it. NOTE: The recipe dosen't say that you should rinse your beans and corn. If you use canned vegetables, it's always good to rinse and drain them well before using. It helps remove the ukkyness of the can and remove some of the salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made this for a group of ladies & it was a really big hit. It was still good, kept refrigerated, for several days later. Save some veggies & cheese for garnish on top to make a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I'm not sure why people say this recipe is odd. I live in East TN/SW VA and I have eaten similar recipies my whole life. It's an awesome recipe and dish. My husband loves it and makes it so there are never left-overs. You can also substitute Miracle whip for the ranch/sour cream/mayo and Jiffy corn muffin mix for the cornbread. We use this recipe but with Jiffy Mix it makes it a bit sweet - very nice and use kidney beans instead of pintos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Awesome recipe! My family now requests this at all our gatherings. I made it as is without changing a thing and it was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy1999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokomis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Oh my! This was delicious! I made the grandma's buttermilk cornbread from this site. Soooo good. Will def be making again soon! The flavors blend together great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Did not care for the flavor of the dressing but the other ingredients went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I used leftover Buttery Corn Bread (from this site). This was AWESOME! I used black beans instead of pinto and also used red bell pepper instead of green. NO tomatoes either. Even my kids liked this one! REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This salad ROCKS. I used kidney instead of pinto but otherwise changed nothing. I layered it in a huge glass bowl and it looked amazing! It is unique in flavor, unlike anything I have ever had before. I will definitely make this again and again. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Cut recipe in half as I was using leftover cornbread. Since I am lactose intolerate , I omitted the sour cream and substituted it for 1.5 cups Ranch dressing. Omitted Cheddar cheese too! Very good. As suggested by other reviewers, I didn't layer; just threw together. I will most certainly make again. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is always a hit @ potluck day where I work. I usually do not use all the cornbread. I find that it is too dry if I use the whole pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States