Cornbread Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I got this recipe years ago from a friend of my mom's, and I have been making it ever since. I frequently make it for potlucks and it is always a hit.I make it with black beans (well rinsed) and regular onions if I don't have any green onions on hand, and people always ask me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BaillysMom
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I used black beans instead of Pintos and I used a Spicy Ranch packet instead of regular. To accommodate a family member that's gluten intolerant, I made my cornbread with tapioca flour instead of regular flour. It made the cornbread crisp/brown and I liked that it kept it's texture. It didn't get soggy/mushy at all! It was a HUGE hit! Everyone had 2nd helpings! Some said they could eat this as a meal itself. I thought maybe the recipe made more than I needed but 8 of us DEVOURED the entire punch bowl full and this wasn't the only salad there! I posted a pic. :) It was super pretty, fresh and I will be making this again soon!!! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaillysMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: S Coffeyville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I'll admit, I thought this sounded pretty gross with the mayonnaise, onion, tomato, and bacon, but wow I loved it! We made this in my cooking class and it was great. And it's so filling. This would be a good dish to take to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I love this recipe! I only used 1 cup of mayo and 1 cup of sour cream and thought it was enough. I mix the chopped veggies together, and I use a can of black beans and a can of kidney instead of pinto. I mix the cheese, bacon and corn in with the mayo dressing mix to make it a little easier. Yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I love this recipe. The only changes I made were omitting the bacon and adding some chopped lettuce. Pinto beans and corn were well-drained and tomatoes de-seeded. The salad was even better the second day and did not get soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The best Salad ever!!!!! I made it this summer and everyone enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Hatchett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
It never fails that when I bring something a teeny bit exotic to a BBQ/potluck it is rarely well-received. However, whenever I make recipes that I personally do not care for, people gobble it up and continually ask for the recipe. Go figure! Well, I love cornbread and this is not a traditional recipe, so although I was trepidatious, I made it for our friend's party anyway. First off, I made Texas Caviar the night before and could not find any ripe avocados at the store. So my honey told me to use guacamole. It was too creamy and we didn't care for it. I used this as one of the fillers in my cornbread recipe. Yep... I was scared...lol! I used this recipe as a general guide and now I realize that the possibilities are endless. I added in chopped red pepper, lots of halved cherry and grape tomatoes, I grill 2 ears of corn on the cob and cut the corn off the cob. I also roasted about 4-5 jalapeños and mixed it in with my dressing. I layered as much as I could in a trifle dish. Finished it off with the dressing. Over the dressing I put a layer of green onions with 3 tiny tomatoes in the middle and rounded the edges with the halves. It looked beautiful. About 4 hours later it was on a table being devoured. Everyone made comments about the presentation and the flavor in the dish itself. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
A hit for sure. I used our leftover cornbread from the nights before, always glad to not waste food! I make my own ranch mix and added boiled eggs. That's the only things I did different. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Just finished making this salad. I have been making it for years and it is a holiday favorite. Anyone who doesn't love isn't making it right. I only use 1 can of corn and add about a cup of bottled ranch dressing as well as the sour cream and mayonnaise. Seal it good with the mayo mixture along the edges and make it the day before to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5kids5grankids
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Took this as a side for Thanksgiving today. Boy! Was this ever a hit amongst some picky adult eaters! I used spicy ranch dressing out of a bottle because that's what I had on hand. Except for the dressing and the addition of a cucumber, I followed the recipe exactly. This is definitely one for the recipe box and will stay in rotation for many years to come. Can't wait to have it again at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States