Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe; thank you. These pancakes are easy to make and come out delicious. No changes to the recipe are needed. I served ours with maple syrup to my husband and daughter. Not a single pancake was left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Nice. They have a beautiful golden hue and fluffy texture, perhaps because I added more b/p and b/s. No buttermilk so I soured milk with a T. of vinegar. It was a surprising change from cornbread and my family enjoyed it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
My family loved them! They are much better than the cornmeal griddle cake recipe I usually use - very moist and fluffy. (Gotta love buttermilk!) I have been trying prepare higher fiber foods, and this recipe fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Nice change of pace from the normal pancake. I add a little bit more flour as the batter was a little to liquidy. My family really like these and I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These are kind of like a sweet cornbread but in pancake form. Like a johnnycake almost. If you are expecting pancakes and not a pancake version of cornbread, you will be disappointed. Adjust the sugar to reflect the amount of sweet you like in your cornbread. I think I put in 3 teaspoons, and it was fine. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Anne
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These came out awesome!!!! I used 1 TBS Vinegar & milk instead of the buttermilk and they were delicious! Great consistency with no alterations. See Photo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Warren, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
These were absolutely wonderful, light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I made these tonight with minor changes...I read some reviews that said they were a little sweet, so when I doubled the recipe instead of doubling the sugar, I used the original 2 Tbsp as instructed. I also changed the flour to 1 cup of all-purpose flour, and 1/2 a cup of Masa flour (for making tamales) and used the full 1 1/2 cups of yellow cornmeal. They were delicious and went perfectly with the soup I made for dinner. I'll be making these again! If I hadn't doubled the recipe, I would have used 1/2 cup all-purpose flour, 1/4 cup Masa flour, and 3/4 cup cornmeal. That would be in keeping with what I did tonight. (oh, and only use half the sugar for a less sweet pancake). This was just what I was looking for - thank you for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made these for the family tonight..they loved them:) The only changes I made was to use ubleached flour and raw sugar. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Absolutely brilliant recipe. I left out the butter and sugar and used milk with 1tbls vinegar instead of Buttermilk. Cooked like a dream, super fast and tasty. We added maple syrup and butter at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States