Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sharon Anne
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These came out awesome!!!! I used 1 TBS Vinegar & milk instead of the buttermilk and they were delicious! Great consistency with no alterations. See Photo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Warren, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Yummmm! I was too lazy (and hungry) to do the butter melting/cooling thing, so I just added some vegetable oil and a little butter extract. These are fluffy and cook perfectly. Love that crunchy crust that comes from the cornmeal! My first time making cornmeal pancakes - won't be my last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Great cornmeal flavour. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used 2% milk, and I only used 1 tbsp sugar as there is plenty if you're topping it with real maple syrup. I'd probably add a bit of vanilla next time. This recipe made about eight 6-inch pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This recipe is fabulous as is! Since we tried it, we've made these once a week (it's been several weeks). I always think I'll just save the leftovers in the freezer... yeah. No leftovers. **tip** Sometimes I save time by mixing all the dry ingredients together the night before, cover and leave them on the counter. In the morning, I just preheat the pan while I mix together my 3 wet ingredients and breakfast is on in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I followed the recipe and it was great. I have a stupid question, when you modify the recipe the rating you give it is it for the original or the modified? Ratings should be based on the recipe. IF you modify it and it does not taste good then don't rate the recipe to mislead people due to your modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These are kind of like a sweet cornbread but in pancake form. Like a johnnycake almost. If you are expecting pancakes and not a pancake version of cornbread, you will be disappointed. Adjust the sugar to reflect the amount of sweet you like in your cornbread. I think I put in 3 teaspoons, and it was fine. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
It was very tasty and easy to make. I gave it a four instead of a five only because it was way too thick as-is and I had to add a half a cup of whole milk. Otherwise, it was delicious. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Delicious recipe! I'm keeping this! A couple things I did wrong (not because the recipe told me so!) that I wanted to share, just in case: *Don't mix the butter in with the flour and cornmeal first! If you do, you'll get lots of little lumps of cornmeal/butter floating in floury milk. I don't know HOW I thought this would work... but it was not good. I blended the sucker with a submersion blender and then it was all good. *Coarse, stone-ground cornmeal makes for VERY crunchy pancakes! Again, this problem was mostly solved by the submersion blender - but next time I'm sticking to something finer ground. The batter doesn't cook for as long as cornbread, so I think the cooking time doesn't give the really coarse cornmeal grains a chance to soften. Those mistakes were my own, though, and not the recipes's - these suckers taste delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Nice. They have a beautiful golden hue and fluffy texture, perhaps because I added more b/p and b/s. No buttermilk so I soured milk with a T. of vinegar. It was a surprising change from cornbread and my family enjoyed it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Made these this morning- Everyone wanted more and to give it more than five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justacrackedpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States