Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe; thank you. These pancakes are easy to make and come out delicious. No changes to the recipe are needed. I served ours with maple syrup to my husband and daughter. Not a single pancake was left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Good pancakes...they are a bit heartier than regular pancakes and not sweet. (You might consider adding extra sugar if you are looking for some sweetness.) I added a splash of vanilla but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Nice change of pace from the normal pancake. I add a little bit more flour as the batter was a little to liquidy. My family really like these and I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
The pancakes were not nasty but they were not the bet I ever had, they were easy to make and i did add vanilla and alittle more sugar, but I couldnt get past the corm meal taste, i will make again but with less corn meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STARAJOY
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Our first pancakes were very thin, so we added 1/2 c. more flour. These pancakes do not get light & fluffy. They are a heavier pancake. My family wasn't crazy about them. If you like cornmeal flavor you will like these, you can definitely taste the cornmeal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Great cornmeal flavour. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used 2% milk, and I only used 1 tbsp sugar as there is plenty if you're topping it with real maple syrup. I'd probably add a bit of vanilla next time. This recipe made about eight 6-inch pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These are kind of like a sweet cornbread but in pancake form. Like a johnnycake almost. If you are expecting pancakes and not a pancake version of cornbread, you will be disappointed. Adjust the sugar to reflect the amount of sweet you like in your cornbread. I think I put in 3 teaspoons, and it was fine. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
It was very tasty and easy to make. I gave it a four instead of a five only because it was way too thick as-is and I had to add a half a cup of whole milk. Otherwise, it was delicious. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Anne
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These came out awesome!!!! I used 1 TBS Vinegar & milk instead of the buttermilk and they were delicious! Great consistency with no alterations. See Photo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Warren, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These sounded interesting & we wanted to try something like a johnnycake but I had a hard time finding a recipe for a good johnnycake so I made these. They are good for a one time thing, but we prefer regular pancakes so we probably won't make them again. Definately like cornbread in a pancake version..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States