Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Made these this morning- Everyone wanted more and to give it more than five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justacrackedpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Nice. They have a beautiful golden hue and fluffy texture, perhaps because I added more b/p and b/s. No buttermilk so I soured milk with a T. of vinegar. It was a surprising change from cornbread and my family enjoyed it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Absolutely brilliant recipe. I left out the butter and sugar and used milk with 1tbls vinegar instead of Buttermilk. Cooked like a dream, super fast and tasty. We added maple syrup and butter at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made these for the family tonight..they loved them:) The only changes I made was to use ubleached flour and raw sugar. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Nah...I pass. I made the pancakes for breakfast this morning. I was expecting light and fluffy. Instead I got dense and heavy. review by a nine year old well i would eat the pancakes if it was my only option but if i didnt have to i wouldnt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Yummmm! I was too lazy (and hungry) to do the butter melting/cooling thing, so I just added some vegetable oil and a little butter extract. These are fluffy and cook perfectly. Love that crunchy crust that comes from the cornmeal! My first time making cornmeal pancakes - won't be my last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Delicious recipe! I'm keeping this! A couple things I did wrong (not because the recipe told me so!) that I wanted to share, just in case: *Don't mix the butter in with the flour and cornmeal first! If you do, you'll get lots of little lumps of cornmeal/butter floating in floury milk. I don't know HOW I thought this would work... but it was not good. I blended the sucker with a submersion blender and then it was all good. *Coarse, stone-ground cornmeal makes for VERY crunchy pancakes! Again, this problem was mostly solved by the submersion blender - but next time I'm sticking to something finer ground. The batter doesn't cook for as long as cornbread, so I think the cooking time doesn't give the really coarse cornmeal grains a chance to soften. Those mistakes were my own, though, and not the recipes's - these suckers taste delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This recipe is fabulous as is! Since we tried it, we've made these once a week (it's been several weeks). I always think I'll just save the leftovers in the freezer... yeah. No leftovers. **tip** Sometimes I save time by mixing all the dry ingredients together the night before, cover and leave them on the counter. In the morning, I just preheat the pan while I mix together my 3 wet ingredients and breakfast is on in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Prepared exactly as written...not horrible but not something we'd like again. I didn't find it overly cornbread tasting nor too sweet, we just didn't like the texture, taste was so-so...not what we were hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States