Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These have very good flavor and texture, but they are flat, not fat. I'm used to big fat fluffy pancakes. These didn't rise much, but otherwise very good and not too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castorland, New York, USA
Living In: Glenfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I was amazed to find the initial mixture was far too thick. I needed to add one whole cup more milk to pour the batter. Also, I doubled the salt as they were quite tasteless otherwise. I fried them in 2 small non- stick frying pans so they turned out perfectly round. The end result was excellent but I cannot understand why only one other reviewer said they had to add extra milk, and even they only added half a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I have been making and eating these pancakes for 45 years. I always have on hand all the ingredients except the buttermilk. But I have found a satisfactory substitute when I have no buttermilk on hand. Its called Saco brand cultured, blended buttermilk, in dry, instant form, in packets, that make one cup of buttermilk, just add milk,or water. One packet makes one cup. And it has a long shelf life, comes 4 packets to a box. Available at most grocery stores in baking goods section. Very handy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
For some reason I have been in the mood for Something made with cornmeal and this recipe was there. I followed the directions exactly and like others, used the milk/vinegar combo as a substitute for buttermilk. since I don't like syrup on pancakes ( yes I know that's weird) these will make a good snack with something spread on them or rolled up in them. This recipe was delicious and easy thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made a half batch thinking the misses wouldnt care for corn cakes. Well there werent any leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaaaaaaaaa
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I followed the recipe and it was great. I have a stupid question, when you modify the recipe the rating you give it is it for the original or the modified? Ratings should be based on the recipe. IF you modify it and it does not taste good then don't rate the recipe to mislead people due to your modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I know what's for our breakfast! They sound awesome! Thanks for this wonderful recipe. The next star will come after we enjoy this terrific idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
You can add whole kernel corn and make it a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Thank you for this delicious recipe! Very light and flavorful. I did not have buttermilk but used one tablespoon of vinegar with 2% milk and they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margy
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Mmm, delicious and fluffy pancakes! Cures the cornbread craving if you're like me and too lazy to wait for cornbread to bake! I ran out of buttermilk so used about 1 cup buttermilk and 1/4 whipping cream, and I also used corn flour instead of cornmeal. Not much difference in flavor, but it has a finer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States