Cornbread Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
a great Sunday morning treat. Vekry Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I've made the original version several times and have tried a couple of variations. This morning, for example, I halved the recipe and instead of using 3/4 cup of 2% milk, I used half a cup of that plus 1/4 c of olive oil. I also used 'fake butter' rather than the real thing. My fiancee, who was eating alone, said they were 'fabulous' -- as good or better than other versions I've made. Maybe because I went a little heavy on the butter, and 'lightly greased' the pan with bacon drippings. (I gave only a four rating because I think the buttermilk ingredient is an unnecessary complication: How many people just happen to have that on hand on a spur-of-the-moment 'pancake morning?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Java, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
The whole family loved them! Be sure to use fine ground cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Used a blend of all-purpose & whole-wheat pastry flour, as well as melted virgin coconut oil/butter blend. Exactly the taste I was looking for...Ate them with blueberries and real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
So yummy and just what I was expecting! The batter was a little thinner than I like, so I added at least a half cup more of flour and 1/4 teaspoon more baking powder and it was perfect. Also added some mini chocolate chips to mimic a chocolate chip cornbread recipe I make and it tasted exactly the same! My kids gobbled them all up.....and no syrup was needed! These have now been added to our weekend pancake rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Three stars for taste and four stars for texture. These were light and fluffy, and the cornmeal added a delightful texture that I really liked. The flavor, though, was just okay. While it didn't taste bad by any means, the flavor was just too reminiscent of corn bread. I do like corn bread, but that wasn't what I was looking for in my pancakes. 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
These pancakes were great! I didn't have cornmeal so I just used a box of Jiffy corn muffin mix (the back of the box listed the ingredients as: wheat flour, cornmeal and sugar - perfect!) and then I added the rest of the ingredients that this recipe called for. I had to substitute skim milk + vinegar for the buttermilk and I also added a little brown sugar. The edges turned out a little crispy and the insides were nice and fluffy. My husband and I both loved them! They are a fun spin on traditional pancakes and they taste great topped with blueberries and maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
My family and I did not care for these. They were very cornmealy tasting and heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These were tasty. I wanted to try a different type of pancake and came across this one. Made it for me and hubby. We both liked them. They rock with some melted butter and maple syrup! Yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I made two changes. Only added one egg and one TBSP oil and made waffles. To die for. Awesome recipe, will try the pancakes next. Has to be wonderful too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States