Cornbread Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Wow this is probably the best success I have had making a good cornbread in years!!! The only thing I did different is I baked it whole in a cast iron skillet. I find it important to to prepare the skillet with vegetable spray then coat with corn meal. After preparing skillet, place in the preheated oven at 450 for about 10-15 minutes. Then pour batter in hot skillet. I also used the veg spray about half way through to coat the cornbread, and that added to the nice browning effect! All in all, this one is a keeper!!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxannaely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Tasted good but were a little dry. Maybe it's because I used whole wheat flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
At first I was a little surprised by the consistency of the batter. I thought I had made some horrible error, but decided to go ahead and bake them to see what would happen. The BEST cornbread muffins is what happened! These are EXACTLY what I want in cornbread. The right hint of sweet with a little tang of buttermilk and tender moist insides. I did change one thing, and that was that I pre-heated my muffin tins before filling them. This is what my grandmother always did. She claimed that was what made hers turn out properly, so I've always done it that way as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I made this recipe with melted butter instead of vegetable oil and instead of making muffins out of it, I cooked it in my cast iron skillet. I melted a couple pats of butter in the skillet (while the oven preheated) before pouring the cornbread batter into the skillet. 350 for just about 40 minutes. This cornbread looked beautiful and just AWESOME in the pan but it was a little dry. Not by much, it might be that I over baked it slightly or the cornmeal needs to be cut back just a touch. I don't get how others had issues with this recipe not rising or coming out tough other than those reviewers overmixed their batter. Overmixing cornbread batter is a huge no-no--you want to wisk all your wet ingredients together and your dry ingredients together in seperate bowls, then fold the dry into the wet until just moistened. The batter will be a little lumpy, but it all comes out in the wash. I also noticed that my batter was quite wet right after I folded my dry ingredients into the wet ingredients but after letting it sit for a couple minutes, it was the right consistancy. No complaints here. I really do think that using vegetable oil instead of butter and it would not have been as good--but I'm a butter lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I doubled the recipe and it made 24 muffins & an 8x8 pan. 400 degrees for 15 minutes and the muffins were done - maybe 5 minutes longer for the pan. It could be jazzed up a bit more or serve with spicy chili. Split and topped with honey would also be good. I decorated the tops with a flower design made from shelled pumpkin seeds - that dressed them up a bit. The recipe adjustments I made were to replace half the flour with whole wheat pastry flour, the vegetable oil was substituted with Smart Balance Omega (a blend of canola and olive oil for a healthier fat). Didn't quite have enough buttermilk so I rinsed out the buttermilk carton with nonfat milk. Spraying pans with Pam had them slipping right out - I think that was a better choice than using paperliners that other reviewers said stick too much to the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
No flavor - dense, didn't rise much at all. Regular recipe from cornmeal package is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly. My cornbread muffins did not rise, they were rubbery and stuck like mad to the muffin paper. Thank god I didnt put them right in the muffin tin or I would still be scraping them out. I found the flavour to be bland and not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sauble Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These muffins barely rose AT ALL. They weren't overly dense, which was a bonus, but they were fairly bland. I was really looking for that nice crispy cornbread muffin top, but got a sad little round puck. I don't like sweeter cornbreads, so the flavor did not put me off, but this is just something to take into account when making this recipe. Either way, I expected something MUCH better for how highly rated this recipe was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Saint Francis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
They were very good, but I like mine sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I thought these were really good muffins. After reading prior reviews I too thought 450 was too high so I baked them at 425. Seemed perfect and muffins rose nicely and were cooked inside at the same time as outside. I filled the muffin cups about 3/4 full and it made exactly the right amount of muffins as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martese houle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States