Cornbread Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
These were good with the 1-2-3 Vegetable Chili I had for dinner. But by themselves they're a little bland. I liked the texture though. It made 16 muffins and 2 small pans of miniature muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
These tasted just okay. The batter is so liquidy and they didn't rise well...and the final texture was not really like any cornbread I've ever had. More spongy, kind of weird. That being said, my kids loved them and they went well with my beans and ham, but I'll be trying other cornbread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Yum! Yum! This cornbread recipe was great with the slow cooker beans and pork! The buttermilk makes them so moist you don’t need butter... I have tried variations of cornbread recipes, but this one tops them all! I used a 13 x 9 and came out with close to 18 squares. Also is great with jam as a desert! Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I was not very impressed. It makes way more than 12 muffins and they did not rise very well. They were dense and kind of chewy instead of light or crumbly like traditional corn bread muffins. Jiffy is much easier and has a superior taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
AT first I was uncertain about the consistency of the finished(batter) product..and ( I do Agree with a prior review that this recipe can be more than a dozen... I myself had yielded 18) i poured the somewhat thin batter into my buttered muffin cups( no paper cups) and "voila....beautiful..golden.. buttery crispy bottomed ..soft tender ..flavorful...I was Impressed...I had made a large pot of my homemade Chili..what a delightful accompaniment....very balanced flavor without too much sweet and great texture...(those who say it is is dry are way off....the texture is just right for a cornmeal treat) well done..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, and I have to say I loved them. I made a batch of muffins, and then I also used the recipe to make a loaf of cornbread as well. The muffins I had to take out after 10 minutes, as they were starting to burn, and the loaf took about 20 minutes. Between myself, my 2 year old, and her father, both were gone in less than 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april3084

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
My husband is wheat and egg intolerant so I modified the recipe. Instead of 3/4 cup flour I used 3/4 cup brown rice flour and to replace the 2 eggs I used 1 over ripe banana and 1/4 c. applesauce. The muffins rose beautifully and he rated them 12 out of 10!!!! He doesn't want me to change the recipe however I may replace the vegetable oil with applesauce next time around to make the muffins lower in fat. We both loved the muffins and the 15 I made were gone by the end of the night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was the best cornbread muffin recipe that I have ever made or had! I was just so surprised because the batter was very, very liquid and I had no idea how it would turn out. I made them with my toddler in mind and he LOVED them! I made them in a mini muffin tray, cooked them the 14 minutes and they turned out perfect! So did the larger muffins that I made with the rest of the batter. AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I was very disappointed in the recipe. It got so many good reviews, so I expected it to be good. I love cornbread, but I didn't like this much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I started making this recipe and realized I did not have enough cornmeal. I was pressed for time and used what I had...believe it or not...instant grits. I used 1/2 cup sugar because my guys like a sweeter muffin. I also used regular milk soured with a bit of vinegar. Not sure they resembled the original recipe at all, but they were really gooD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States