Cornbread Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
We liked the muffins very much, I am not a big fan of sweet corn bread and I found these to be very moist and tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Very, very easy. I added 1 cup grated parmesan cheese and 1 cup frozen corn kernals to batter. I didn't have buttermilk so I used the buttermilk substitution from this site (1 cup milk, minus 1 tablespoon, plus 1 tablespoon of lemon juice). I got 12 large muffins (muffin cups were filled to the brim!) Also, I forgot to add the oil to the recipe and they came out fine and rose up nicely. That was the good, here is the bad.. very, very bland--needs a kick of flavor, maybe garlic powder or cajun seasoning would kick it up a bit. Also, do not fill the cups full like I did, it was very hard to remove from the tins. Not terrible, but not so good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathi from NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This recipe was okay, but nothing amazing. The muffins didn't really rise, so they were pretty flat, and they had a grainy texture and not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I just baked 3 different corn muffin recipes from this website, and compared to the other 2 recipes and compared to my normal recipe, this recipe is a disappointment. These muffins simply lack flavor. And they don't rise very high, even though they do have a pretty good texture inside. These corn muffins are not sweet at all (and neither are my normal corn muffins), but unless you're eating them with something very flavorful, they are pretty bland. When they are first mixed, the batter is pretty runny, but thickens up in a minute or two (so don't worry). I'm going to have to keep looking for the ultimate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Being a southern girl, I'm always on the lookout for good cornbread. This one was Very good. I was worried that it was going to be sweet, but it wasn't. I can't stand sweet cornbread. I added a handful of green onions and a handful of cheese. It was wonderful. Crispy on the outside and moist inside. My husband even commented that he thought it was one of the best cornbreads that he can remember. And that is saying something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I thought these were very tasty. I was a little concerned about the amount of oil, but they turned out very moist and flavorful. My 8yo really liked them. I usually stick to the traditional cornbread in the cast iron pan, but I actually lined a muffin tin with paper liners to make these. I also halved the recipe just to try it, and even though I halved it and fill the muffin liners really full, I had alot of batter left over. So this makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Very good muffin. I took the suggestion of adding some cheddar cheese to the mix. Went well with a pot of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
These muffins are tasty but I felt they had too much corn meal. I will scale it back the next time I make them because they are worth making again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Wonderful recipe! Perfect consistency, moist, and full of flavor. I made no changes which is unusual for me! However, instead of muffins, I made muffin tops. Got 16 large (3.5") muffin tops and baked them for 10 mins. at 375. My husband and I both loved them. This recipe will take the place of my regular cornbread recipe (been making it for almost 49 years). Thanks for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This is the first time i have ever made cornbread muffins and i had mixed reactions from everyone most who tried them said they were lovely but a couple of friends were not as keen on them i myself thought they were very good and tastey i will definitely make these again.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States