Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I really liked this recipe - it is quite easy to make, and made it as written the first time. Afterwards, I left out the potato flakes and doubled the cornmeal. I also added a handful of cheddar cheese and a handful of corn (I find that this makes it less dry and adds a little extra flavor boost). The other thing that I recommend is to stir it with a whisk past the point of "just combined" - this also helps with the moist issue (I do this with the boxed variety as well and have had great reviews because of it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this without the instant potatoes, I instead doubled the amount of yellow cornmeal in the recipe. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is a great basic cornbread. I did make my own adjustments as it wasn't salty or sweet enough for us. I used 4 tablespoons of sugar, only 2 teaspoons of baking powder, and a teaspoon of salt. I omitted the potato flakes, don't keep them on hand, and doubled the cornmeal instead. I oiled and heated the cast iron skillet ahead of time and broiled for 30 seconds after as another poster suggested. It came out wonderfully! I whipped butter and honey together, one to one, and used as a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hopefloats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This has to be the best cornbread I've had! Thank goodness I ran out of Jiffy mix. Maybe next time I will add a little more sugar, but other than that it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
it's the greatest cornbread that have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this for our Pastors anniversary and it was wonderful! I had lots of compliments and many people wanted the recipe! Am DEFINATELY making this for Christmas dinner this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
being from tennessee, i have had some pretty great cornbreads, and this is not one of them. this cornbread is just okay. i doubled the sugar and the cornmeal and used buttermilk and still it was rather dry. we had it last night with vegetable soup--it's great for crumbling into the soup, because you can't tell how dry it is, but for eating it by itself, like i said, it's just okay. i took one reviewers suggestion to preheat the pan with vegetable oil in it before adding the cornmeal mixture and unfortunately my cornbread stuck to the pan. so, i will not be doing that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbyparker216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I thought this was fabulous! It wasn't too sweet, which is a problem I have with allot of the cornbread recipes out there. I was a little leery about the use of the potato flakes, but they added moistness and a tad bit of texture to finished product. It was delicious with the Black beans I cooked. This will be the recipe I use every time. I must say mine cooked up a little less even on the top as compared to the picture accompanied with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjackson251

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This cornbread recipe is actually pretty good. I only used it because all the other cornbread recipes called for buttermilk and i needed one that called for regular milk. I was kind of skeptical about using the potato flakes but it was actually pretty good. Well, that is,if you are making dressing with it. I would recommend that if you want some good "grandma's" southern cornbread, that you use a different recipe. This definitely isn't what I am used to when it comes to just regular cornbread, but it is good for dressings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
If you grew up in the South eating grandma's cornbread on Sunday, you will not recognize this as cornbread. The proportions of cornmeal to flour are backwards at best, and I even increased the meal to 1 cup. Perhaps this is what passes for cornbread in some places, but not around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States