Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've made cornbread this way all my life... the TRICK, is to add a 1/2 tsp kosher salt! Also, DO NOT use shortening - only bacon grease. (If you don't hear a sizzle when you pour the batter into the skillet, your pan isn't hot enough.) Remove as soon as possible onto a serving plate or flip it into a glass pie pan, otherwise, it will continue to "cook" as it cools! And since my daughter is gluten-sensitive only when consuming large amounts, I am still free to add my 1 Tbsp. AP flour, which does give it a lighter rise. I am always asked to bring my "skillet cornbread" to functions and gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I love skillet cornbread and this was a good recipe. I used whole milk instead of butter milk and bacon grease instead of shortening. Bacon grease add a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was delicious cornbread. Not sweet in anyway, which is what I'm used to in cornbread. That said, the directions are completely nutso. I used a 10-inch iron skillet, adjusted all the ingredients to 1.5 the called-for amounts (i.e. 1.5 cups cornmeal instead of 1 cup), and baked at 350 for 23 minutes. Came out perfectly cooked and just slightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Downright awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Just like the recipe I learned from my grandmother. This is perfect if you can find the coarse, stone ground cornmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is exactly the kind of cornbread I need in my life! Raised in southern Mississippi and I don't believe in sweet cornbread. The only thing that I'm going to do differently next time is use butter instead of the shortening. But it's great with shortening too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe is entirely misleading, usually cornbread is baked at 350. I thought 450 was a little high but I tried it anyway, it turned out burnt and totally flat - didn't rise at all except on big bubble in the middle. It was a waste of a perfectly good cup of milk and cornflour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Love, love it. Just like what I grew up eating in the Deep South.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
As written, the fundamentals of the recipe are there. The baking instructions, however, are misleading. 450 degrees for 30-40 minutes is too hot and too long - resulting in a blackened, burnt crust. Other cornbread recipes bake at 350-400 degrees for up to 30 minutes. Make this recipe, but watch it carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deathmagus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Perfect cornbread - not sweet and cakey but hearty. Also, it's an easy gluten-free bread to have with dinner. We have made this many times and there are rarely any leftovers. It would also be a good cornbread to use for stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States