Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I haven't tried it because its the same as mine. And generations before me. Of coarse you add different things to make it a side dish: like corn and jalapeños onions etc. all that is great sometimes but I prefer it most in its plain form. Sometimes I have substituted mayonnaise for egg and the oil (you can also use vegetable oil instead of lard) and it works (about 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons). Sometimes I add 1 tablespoon anyway and it turns just right not too dry. Another good tip is to warm pan ( not too hot) then poor a couple of tablespoons oil ( or lard) then over sink or drip pan swirl around if not too hot with fingers as too oil pan well then pour off excess oil a little left in pan won't hurt a thing. This helps for the bread to crust perfectly and to release from pan with ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I wondered how this would work with no flour, but I followed directions. I poured the very thin batter into my hot greased skillet and stirred in the fat (olive oil). I set the timer for 30 minutes, but peeked in at 22. Good thing, since the edges were quite dark. I took it out, cooled slightly, and cut it. Quite dark on the bottom (not burned). It's only 1/2 inch thick. The flavor is OK. I agree the salt is a little too much. This is not going to be my new favorite cornbread recipe. Sorry. UPDATE: I revisited this recipe today. I read the reviews suggesting a lower temperature and to make sure to put vinegar in the milk if not using buttermilk. I also realized my skillet is larger than the recipe calls for, so I increased amounts by half. My result was a thicker bread and I turned it out of the pan so that it would not continue to brown. It looks beautiful. But, alas! I miss the sugar and flour! So although this may be what YOU are looking for, it is still not for me. But I really tried. In this case, people who DID NOT follow the recipe's directions, but left a review telling what they did instead, really helped me. These directions do not seem to be accurate for many people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've made cornbread this way all my life... the TRICK, is to add a 1/2 tsp kosher salt! Also, DO NOT use shortening - only bacon grease. (If you don't hear a sizzle when you pour the batter into the skillet, your pan isn't hot enough.) Remove as soon as possible onto a serving plate or flip it into a glass pie pan, otherwise, it will continue to "cook" as it cools! And since my daughter is gluten-sensitive only when consuming large amounts, I am still free to add my 1 Tbsp. AP flour, which does give it a lighter rise. I am always asked to bring my "skillet cornbread" to functions and gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I love skillet cornbread and this was a good recipe. I used whole milk instead of butter milk and bacon grease instead of shortening. Bacon grease add a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This was delicious cornbread. Not sweet in anyway, which is what I'm used to in cornbread. That said, the directions are completely nutso. I used a 10-inch iron skillet, adjusted all the ingredients to 1.5 the called-for amounts (i.e. 1.5 cups cornmeal instead of 1 cup), and baked at 350 for 23 minutes. Came out perfectly cooked and just slightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Downright awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Just like the recipe I learned from my grandmother. This is perfect if you can find the coarse, stone ground cornmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is exactly the kind of cornbread I need in my life! Raised in southern Mississippi and I don't believe in sweet cornbread. The only thing that I'm going to do differently next time is use butter instead of the shortening. But it's great with shortening too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe is entirely misleading, usually cornbread is baked at 350. I thought 450 was a little high but I tried it anyway, it turned out burnt and totally flat - didn't rise at all except on big bubble in the middle. It was a waste of a perfectly good cup of milk and cornflour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Love, love it. Just like what I grew up eating in the Deep South.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States