Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This was exactly what was stated, it was a dense grainy cornbread that was easy to prepare and came out exactly like she stated. I have to admit I was wanting a lighter cornbread and did not like this type. I do like to make it in a skillet so this was what tempted to make it. I won't prepare it again, the family did not like it. It was my own fault for not picking another variety to choose from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
This is the perfect cornbread! It's the kind, being from Arkansas, that I was raised on and have eaten my whole life. I can't stand the sweet, cakey cornbread that most people make today - this is REAL cornbread!! Gritty and dense and not sweet at all - excellent! This brings back great memories of my Grandma's cooking. Perfect with a bowl of black eyed peas and a big glass of iced tea! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
great southern style cornbread, not cakey and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
very authentic, but a bit too salty. might have been my fault, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I made this cornbread with low fat margarine in a cake pan in the oven, and personally thought it tasted great warm, but my family didn't like it as much as the sweeter corn muffins I made from a different recipe. I liked it, though, and will make it for myself again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I have been looking for a cornbread recipe like this forever!! I do not like sweet or cakey cornbread!! Umm this is soooooooo goood!!! I would definately use this recipe over and over! Yum yums!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This recipe was great! Exactly what I have been looking for. I don't like the "cake like" texture of cornbread I prefer the grainy texture of the good old fashioned kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Absolutely delicious cornbread. Perfect to eat with a bowl of chili or to make cornbread stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Thank goodness, a non-sweet cornbread! My husband and I hate sweet, cakey cornbread and this was just like my mother-in-law used to make. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This is the real thing. Thanks for sharing--this is what I remember from childhood in rural Georgia, only I remember that my mom and grandmother didn't use the egg. Wondering if I could just leave it out of this one. Would appreciate it if someone could post a recipe for egg-less cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States