Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Great recipe! It was my first time making cornbread and I was very happy with how it worked out. I did make a few changes - I used slightly less than 3/4 cup medium cornmeal, 1 tbsp plain flour, 1/4 cup coarse wholemeal flour, cut down salt to a scanty 1/2 tsp, added 1/2 tsp baking powder as well as the baking soda, and added 1/2 tbsp honey and half tbsp caster sugar. I also used a cast iron casserole dish and sunflower oil, as I didn't have a skillet or shortening. It came out a little lighter / fluffier i.e more cake like than I expected, but this was probably due to me fiddling around with the recipe! Either way, it was great, and a healthier option than many others out there! Thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Good skillet cornbread. We like savory & grainy when it somes to cornbread as opposed to sweet & cakey, so this was a good choice for us. I love cornbread from a skillet with that crispy bottom and edges. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I used less salt and baking powder not soda. It was good but, 30 min. was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Standard cornbread. Exactly what I was looking for, without any additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
On the second try I reduced the salt to 1/4 teaspoon and I added 1/4 cup of sugar. I made two seperate batches and poured them in a cast iron pan to bake. Baking powder not baking soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Thanks for this! I like the sweet, cakey one, too, but it's not really cornbread, is it? This is literally just like Mother made, in the iron skillet I still have !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
it definitley does not take 40 minutes, and 30 is the longest i would wait my oven does it in 25 minutes,but it is est recipe for cornbread and i allways have to use the milk n vinegar trick for buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Perfect recipe if you're looking for a "not sweet" cornbread. I made mine in a large piece of stoneware so it was thin and cooked up very quickly. Was very tasty with butter and/or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I really didn't think this was going to work. I usually add flour to my stone ground cornmeal recipes. I also thought the heat would be too high. My husband is a diabetic so I decided to go for it. I took a peek at it during cooking & it looked like it was a weird boiling mess. But, I'll admit I ate half the pan. Kept coming back for more. Really liked it. I even did the vinegar, skim milk trick since I didn't have any buttermilk. Can't wait to try it with buttermilk. I also only had butter flavored Shortening so I used that. It's a simple recipe that I really liked. I did take it out at about 25 minutes. It was started to get really brown around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
needs sugar and I don't know about the baking soda, should be baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States