Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Holy smoke, this is good. True southern cornbread like I grew up with. I doubled the recipe and baked for 23 minutes in my 10-inch iron skillet. I did come back to change my rating to 4 instead of 5 stars because it really is too salty. At first I thought I liked it, but next time I'll try cutting the salt in half. Otherwise a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Gritty, crunchy, not sweet at all. Your kind of recipe if you don't like the normal sweet, cakey cornbreads, which I don't. I used the 9" cast iron pan called for in the recipes and it took 21 minutes to cook to perfection, albeit fairly thin. Whoever took the featured photo must have used a double recipe. The other comments regarding an excessively salty taste caused me to cut the salt in half to 1/2t. and that was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Wonderful and easy recipe. Definitely double the recipe if you have a large cast iron skillet! Served with Boilermaker chili from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was looking for a dense cornbread to use for my dressing tomorrow for Thanksgiving. The problem is it might not be around tomorrow morning because it is so good. I have a larger iron skillet so I doubled the recipe. So easy to make! Funny how some ratings are only 4 stars but that's because they modified it. This is a great traditional cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Finally! I've been searching for a real cornbread recipe but kept coming up with cake like corn muffins instead. This recipe is the real thing. Only note is that at 27 minutes at 450 it was about to over cook so keep your eye on it starting at the 20 minute mark. Going to make some today for a yummy southern thanksgiving dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I did add about 1/4C honey and 1/4C white flour to the recipe and baked in a non-stick, metal cake pan for about 20 minutes. Only had regular cornmeal, not stone ground. Love the texture. Even with adding honey, still not sweet and still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Nice cornbread, I overcooked it a bit and next time will use a smaller pan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Delicious. True southern cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SASSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This cornbread was okay at first, a little too thick for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theguts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
For some reason I can't make a pan of cornbread to my taste and that doesn't fall apart unless I use two eggs. So I did with this recipe, and it's perfect every time, flipped over onto a plate out of an ancient cast iron skillet, crusty on the outside, dense and delicious on the inside. I like it best just out of the oven, with real salted butter. I'm going to try a different corn meal next time, because I think that's been my problem. This recipe is what my momma says she makes, and of course it's momma's cooking that I'm craving now that she's moved 2000 miles away. Come back home to Arkansas, mom!!! Great doings, Nancy! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States