Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was far too salty. I was looking for a recipe that was not full of sugar and I will try it again just with half the amount of salt or less even. It was pretty crumbly, but I am guessing maybe it is supposed to be that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
My grandson is allergic to wheat flour. Not only is this good tasting . But the best corn muffins ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice46
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
We did not like this at all. Very bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Great recipe! Easy and fun to prepare. I'm surprised how many guests prefer this old style cornbread to the sweet fluffy variety. Be sure to use a fine-gring cornmeal. The popular medium-grind cornmeal is too coarse and results in gritty cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
My DH loves this kind of cornbread. My personal preference is for the sweet, cakey kind. All-in-all a good recipe and I made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
If you use regular milk rather than buttermilk, make sure to use baking powder instead of the baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is the recipe I've been looking for. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This was a great cornbread with some of my personal modifications (some because of lack of items on hand): 1 TBS of sugar added Substituted shortening with "Smart Balance” butter spread ¼ tsp salt I used regular corn meat along with just a regular 8”x8” square baking pan. Because of the added sugar, I lowered the oven temperature to 400o and only cooked 25 minutes. My husband thought it was the best cornbread he had ever tasted. I tried this recipe because we just found out my husband was allergic to wheat (after 50+years). Thank you for this wonderful "wheat free" cornbread. My next venture..."wheat free" banana bread. I'll let you know what I come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Sandy
Home Town: Redford, Missouri, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Didn't have a bad flavor, but it just wasn't what my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by handgrenade

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written and the cornbread looks NOTHING like the picture. It also nearly burned to a crisp in my oven. This was after baking it for less than 30 minutes. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States